Weddings and uncomfortable shirts.

in #philosophy7 years ago

So, yesterday I was buying myself a nice shirt, which I don't usually like to wear because it is so inconvenient and uncomfortable, for the wedding of my friends. I was like, "Damn, I don't even need that stuff and I hate buying it just to wear one time, but well, I gotta respect my friends and the dress code." And so, while I was waiting in the line to pay for the shirt, I heard a couple talking.

Baby, maybe we should look for another suit or change the color?

Don't you worry... I am not planning to wear this stuff ever after that wedding.


source

I smiled. It felt good to see that other people are also wasting (or maybe not?) money on things they don't want to but have to, wear. Yup, there is nothing good in weddings I guess. Anyway, I was thinking more - maybe we buy those one-time suits to show solidarity for the bride, who only wears that wedding dress only once in her lifetime (hopefully, right J-Lo?)

I also thought that it was stupid for me to buy that stupid shirt and came to a conclusion that everything what we do is stupid. Right, it might not be my best purchase, but believe me, I know that it'll make my friends a little happier to see all the guests wearing fancy clothes, and I can see nothing wrong in that. So I cooperate because I love my friends. I buy some uncomfortable shit because I love my friends and I know that it will make them happier. After all, isn't everything in life like that shirt, which we don't actually need it but when we have it, it can only bring joy? I know it isn't... But I wish it was. I wish we could stop thinking about the things we must (for some reason) do and just enjoy doing it because we put a smile on the faces of our beloved ones.

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing...

I'm down with shirts, but tie... That's another story
Want to feel like somebody is choking you for the whole night, get a tie!
Exclusive offer

haha, true that

I'm with you, I've never been a fan of dressing up, but there are those times when you just have to conform, I suppose.

Yup, I suppose radicalism of any sort is not good for you. There are always situations in life when you have to adapt.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95