We don't want our dreams to come true. We are not ready for that.

in #philosophy7 years ago

I thought about my little dreams today. I told my friend how cool it would be to come true. I thought a little more. I realized that I was not even ready for those dreams to come true.

Seriously, how many of you would be glad if your dreams come true tomorrow? I bet that you would all just go crazy and start denying the presence of the reality. You would not be able to control it... or maybe it's just me who is lame.

DSC_0026.JPG

I came to a conclusion that humans' mentality is to expect "normal" all the time. We don't think we can ever become legends (we dream about it, but we don't truly believe it) and we also don't think that we could die tomorrow in a car crash.

Any kind of digression from the mean makes us terrified... so we just deny the possibility of that happening.

And I was sitting, thinking "Is it possible for me not to work for anybody from such a young age? That would be an amazing life." And I realized that I am heading toward this goal. "That doesn't make any sense," I kept thinking, "It is what happens to other people, but not me."

I understand that those thoughts are not healthy at all, but I just cannot control what comes to my mind. I can control what I believe or do... but not what I think. That said, I enjoy catching myself thinking about all the different ideas. Sometimes I am happy with my thought process; sometimes I am not.

And while I was thinking about how improbable are radical things, I realized that many of radicals things already happened in my life. I realized that what was once a dream became a reality already.

And yet, I got scared of an idea of any of my dreams become a reality tomorrow. Maybe some dreams are actually better of being just dreams? And this makes me wonder if people even know what they want from the life... or they just think they do, because they don't ever expect anything to happen?

Or maybe, just maybe, we should not let any damaging thoughts let us down. Maybe we should get prepared for our dreams.

Sort:  

I'm guessing they just think they do. Its like when you dream of something, and you achieve it. Your dreams don't stop. You realize something new to dream about. Its a constant cycle. Look at all the people who have achieved so much. They just dream something new, and set out for it. #Elon Musk and @dantheman being the prime example of the positive parts achieving something worth dreaming about. and dreaming of something new. Then repeating the process over and over each time, helping all of humanity. Thats where we all want to get to! Thanks for posting though. Following you now. Good luck steeming!

Thanks for your thoughts @dlr! Yeah, we are sometimes too busy to realize that we have already achieved something. And of course, a person with high ambitions always have something to work on. That's the beauty of life - you cannot ever finish it.

There's plenty of proof of the disaster that can happen when a radical financial dream comes true, like winning the lottery. Many winners just can't handle it and go off the deeep end!

Yup, that's true. I guess it just illustrates what I have said. Kind of sad, isn't it? Everyone is dreaming about getting rich but rarely do people need it or know how to handle it.

A dream is comprised of multiple feelings associated with whatever the dream 'means' to us... if we are terrified of our dreams it is likely the result of a deeper network of our 'map of the world' our resourceful and not so resourceful beliefs and the in-ability to reconcile them;

So yes in a way you're right, most people wouldn't be able to handle the reality of their dreams coming true, but I'd say that has more to do with their internal world than anything else.

Thanks for getting my brain churning ;)

Thanks for your thoughts @theunfairedge! I totally agree with you. We are sometimes not even sure about what we want deep down inside, so it is not a big surprise we can get lost in our dreams so easily.

We are sometimes not even sure about what we want deep down inside, so it is not a big surprise we can get lost in our dreams so easily.

Too true, as humans we don't really think about the future very well. I've found that thinking about my future has been incredibly invaluable.

I like to do the 'one perfect day exercise'... also if you've heard of selfauthoring?

It's basically a process to integrate your future ambitions through answering questions as well as processing and understanding yourself better. [learned about it from Jordan Peterson].

It increases the likelihood of you achieving your future outcome by 25-30% or something like that.

I definitely think it's important for us to think about our dreams; to think about what we want, but MOST IMPORTANTLY OF ALL what we are willing to take responsibility or HAVE that we don't want...

For instance if you want to be a pro-wrestler then you have to be on the road 320 days of the year... with every benefit/privileged also comes a sacrifice/compromise.

Mark Manson has a great article on this.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/mark-manson/the-most-important-question_b_4269161.html

I totally agree with you! Yeah, I have heard of selfauthoring and I try to practice it as often as I can.
I believe that whatever we want to do with our lives, we always have to be true to reality. And also, like you said, we must take all the responsibility of our actions. I'll read that article later, when I have more time!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97