Swim naked; smile naked; stay naked. Can we truly understand ourselves?

in #philosophy7 years ago

People wear too many clothes. And I am not talking about clothes on our bodies but our souls. We are all fake, don't you think? So let's fix it and stay naked. Not literally, of course.

Tulum.jpg

Well, literally as well.

I believe that our society is faking through its existence. People just don't want to open up to others anymore. I don't even think that people know how to do it anymore. We are all so busy trying to blend in that we don't care about ourselves anymore. It is all about belonging to other groups of people these days. We are afraid to be alone.

People who tell that they are not pretending are either liars or wizards.

I don't believe that we can know ourselves. At least I don't, and I am not ashamed of that. Every day I find something new about myself, and every day I understand that I know way too little to say "I am always behaving as true me." It would be a lie. I don't know who is true me just yet.

If you think you do just dig deeper and try to answer all unanswered questions. People who truly know themselves have no doubts. Do you have doubts?

Also, there is that part of being afraid of opening up because you might get hurt. There is nothing new to say about it. I don't even trust myself, so why would I trust others? How can we expect others to show their naked souls if they don't feel comfortable to show their naked bodies? (I am not implying that we should be walking naked. That would be awkward.)

Just try swimming naked. Join nature.

I love swimming naked. The moment I am floating in the water makes me experience complete freedom. I feel safe. It feels like I fully open up to nature and nothing can hurt me anymore. Ironically, the fear of getting hurt by others by showing your true colors can only be destroyed when you show your true colors for once. Yup, we only fear the unknown.

We can only get to know ourselves when we let others know us as well.

Sort:  

naked.jpeg Only if I can find a place secluded enough that NO ONE WILL SEE ME!- But sound great.

My photo was taken in Tulum. There are plenty of secluded cenotes where you can swim without worrying about people find you naked :D

I enjoy reading your posts. I am experiencing a very new way of getting to know myself. It feels like I am sitting in my own cocoon without distractions of anybody else.

We can only get to know ourselves when we let others know us as well.

I understand your thought but it's different for me. At least for now or maybe I am just getting less interested in others. I feel kind of sad that my passion about people seems to vanish.

BTW : I love being naked!

I know what you are saying. Sometimes it feels like you evolve faster than your environment and it gets boring for a while. However, later this feeling passes and you start enjoying company again, just in a different way. There is nothing wrong in it. And yeah, it is a very good practice to spend time with yourself to think things through.

I've been such social butterfly for many years and it feels strange but so interesting to deal with myself most of all. Yes ! You are right ! Phases and circle of our lives.

Yup, it is hard to be alone at first, but it is an amazing feeling when you know how to control it. Some people think loneliness and being alone is the same, but those two have nothing in common.

Join Mammasitta's - Steemit Chat
https://steemit.chat/channel/mammasittas to help each other :)
#notsoalone

Agree, most of the time people pretend just to please people around them. They need to show gestures that is appropriate for somebody due to perceptions that they might be wronged. Most of the time, being true to ourselves can only be done when we are alone or when we are with families and close friends.

That's crazy when you think about it. We all pretend because we are scared to show-off to the majority. Ironically, everyone would love to be themselves but they just cannot anymore because of the system.
It is sometimes even hard to be true to yourself because of all emotions and uncertainty. Life is a struggle :D

Life could be a struggle, but if you know your way around, life could be great then. :)

I like to think that life is a great struggle. I mean, it will never be easy, but I have no options, so I choose to enjoy it!

Right, instead of worrying how to live life, lets just enjoy it. Live life to the fullest.

A giant leap that many are afraid to attempt. We all have fallen victim to this character flaw at some point in our lives. Great post!!!:-)

I am starting to think that there is nothing wrong with it. People just adapt to society to survive. Maybe what really matters is what we think inside?
Thanks for your thought @jeschunta!

Cool, i've always wanted to go to Tulum.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65124.62
ETH 3554.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46