You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: People Are Fixated On Achieving Equality. Even If It Means Making Apples Act Like Oranges

in #philosophy6 years ago

That was a rather amusing discussion haha. To be honest, I've never listened to those shows, but I will surely check them out! As for Jordan Peterson, I have seen this guy before but never dwelled into his work. But you know, things he and I suppose those other people say are pretty obvious and logical so maybe that is why I have similar thoughts. I mean, it only takes a little of observation to understand why we live in a world like it is today. And it doesn't matter if these things Peterson said are good or bad (depends on everyone's taste and perspective I guess) because they are the reality. And we have to live in that reality. One would be stupid to expect to change the society so it is better to know the rules that society play by and learn how to thrive in it.

And another thing that bothers me a lot is the fact that people don't know how to listen anymore. That interview proves it even more. The woman couldn't keep up with Peterson and made completely false conclusions because instead of hearing the whole sentence she just used some certain fragments and interpreted them as she wanted to.

To be honest, I am against any kind of radicals. We live in a very complex world and claiming anything for granted, especially when it something debatable and uncharted, is plain stupid. I love how that woman in the interview keeps saying that all the common women traits are "vast generalization," but somehow "women get paid less than men" is not a "vast generalization" and she uses it all the time.

As for government, I think I can agree with that as well, but the government is nothing more than a bunch of people with power. So I guess doing things you discussed is the easiest way for those powerful people to control the masses would they be part of the government or any other organization.

And thanks for showing me those guys, I'll check them for sure. I just hope that they are not radicals on the other side of the fence because that is also wrong imo. But my first impression about Jordan Peterson is very positive - there are not so many people these days who can actually talk argumentatively and sound sane.

Sort:  

Great response.

" I love how that woman in the interview keeps saying that all the common women traits are "vast generalization," but somehow "women get paid less than men" is not a "vast generalization" and she uses it all the time.

Exactly!

Well..Stefan Molyneux has thousands of hours of rational discussion on youtube. I've been listening to him for 6-7 years now, and I suppose he is a radical in a way. He argues for free markets and libertarianism, and he is a master at conversation and rationality. It's very hard to disagree with anything he says :)

Joe Rogan show is cool because he invites a lot of people like Molyneux, blackpigeonspeaks, Jordan Peterson and even guys like Richard Spencer to his show. His show has sort of a more mainstream appeal to it, but he finds really interesting people to talk to.

I actually also even find Jared Taylor and Richard Spencer interesting. I find it hard to disagree with their reasoning.

Thanks for great suggestions! Most of the time those people are just talking rational and factual stuff so there is no reason (or chance) to disagree with them haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67658.71
ETH 3766.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59