People without a backup plan are like little fishes in the shark's tank.

in #philosophy7 years ago

The more I observe people, the more I see that they don't have any backup plans most of the time. People tend to think that their life will only go upward and be like "I don't need to know anything else because X is going to make me successful/rich/happy." And if you ask, "What if X fails?" the answer is always something like, "It won't. You know nothing, writingamigo."

Make sure to have a backup plan. Always.

Even when things are too good to be true?

Especially when things are too good to be true.


To make everything look cooler, let's pretend that I had those thoughts while hiking in the mountains

Naturally, you all think that I am talking about money here. Of course, you need to distribute your money safely and more importantly, have some different sources of income. However, it goes further than money - you must have a backup plan for every situation in life.

Take relationships for instance. If one fails, you must already have a backup plan (boy/girl) waiting for you. Oh, wait... It sounds wrong when I put it this way. Yeah, love is freaking ridiculous phenomenon which defies all the logic and sanity. But rather than love matters - make sure to diversify your portfolio. Of course, you can try to diversify your number of lovers as well, but usually, it has a tendency to go to zero. Love market is even stranger than cryptocurrencies market.

Devote yourself to your soulmates, but devote your money to all the different places. And earn money from different places.

Crypto market is crashing now and I feel safe because I have this magazine that I work for and I know I won't starve. At some point, with all the FOMO, I considered putting all my portfolio in crypto but remembered that I was not that stupid yet. Now, I watch how everything burns and I am feeling calm because even if it explodes, I'll stay financially stable.

Work in different places. Earn from different people. Put your money in different markets. And most importantly, save 10 percent of your income for the zombie apocalypse!

Act before something bad happens, not after. Why? Well, if I have to answer this question for you... you have no hope.

Sort:  

haha this was a cool read, I like your perspective! I'll mention how I disagree with three things you've said. The first, when you go to battle, you erase all doubt from your mind., and visualize your queues to success. Backup plans are ok, but you need your vision 100% focus on your successful outcome.

The second, when it comes to relationships, having another iron in the fire is a recipe for disaster. Loyalty is hard to find today, and if someone is loyal to you, never take that for granted. Go all in 100% for that relationship. Again like the first point, if you have the seed of doubt in your mind, it may grow. The loyal woman in my life deserves nothing but 100% from me.

Last but not least, a fiat "dollar" or crypto dollar will be useless in the apocalypse. You better hope you have some hard skills that you can use to barter with. Can you wield, can you fix an engine, can you fire a kiln, can u grow a vegetable garden, or animals husbandry skills..

thanks for your thoughts! I was joking about the relationship part! I totally agree that there must 100 percent loyalty.
Also, we must always focus toward our vision 100 percent, you are right. But we must also know that things might not work out the way we want and that we shall not degenerate if that happens.
As for dollars and crypto... well, I appreciate my traveling and kick-box skills over any money if I need to face zombies lol

I don't think it's so much a question of having a back up plan or not, although a back up plan is helpful yes. I think the issue partially, or largely actually is people identify themselves and their worth in the eyes of others, or by societal definitions. When you ask some one 'so what do you do?' and they say 'I'm a doctor'. They immediately tell you what they do as a job, this is in their minds what defines them. When they loose that job, they loose their sense of self. The same goes for relationships, I don't think you need back up lovers, I think you need to be in love with your self, truly love your own company, what you stand for, know who YOU are and not know yourself based on your job, or your relationship, or your financial status. This alone wont pay the bills when you loose your job, but I just think that if you clearly know your self and have a relationship with your self, when you loose that job, or loose that partner you are just in a far better position to pick up and continue your journey. At the moment often if you loose a job or loose a partner people feel as though their life is over, what am I doing to do now etc etc. When actually you only lost A job, or you only lost A relationship , (I know this is very over simplified) but I hope you catch my drift.

Interesting post :)

Yeah, I totally agree with what you said. I see this problem as well. People tend to chain themselves to some outside stuff like jobs or other people instead of working with their inside material. After all, if you are calm from inside - nothing can hurt you!

Yes, it is definitely something that is easier said than done. I'm a work in progress my self, but the first stage is become aware of the issue :)

Wow nice mountain view, restem.

Agreed. Upvoted. Resteemed. Thanks.

good reads here, life and work balance is so essential , and yes it is best to plan and organized things well especially when it comes to your health or emergency case

true, as Jack from The Shining used to say "All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy" :D

haha couldn't agreee more:D work smarter and wiser

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63835.35
ETH 2630.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82