It is fascinating how most of the people don't really have a dream or life's goal. What's yours?

in #philosophy7 years ago

I am usually that annoying person who always talks about all the possible stuff with everyone from strangers to my mom. I just love hearing what people think because I believe that humans' thoughts are the most spectacular and unexplainable phenomenon. It never fails to amaze me how wicked, delusional, witty, and [input any adjective] people can become while talking about stuff which requires thinking. Anyway, one of the questions that I sometimes like to ask is

What's your life's goal?

And I know how everyone hates this question, but I don't understand why. I mean, we all should have a goal, shouldn't we? Yup... the situation is pretty terrible. It is not the fact that people don't have a goal that amazes me, but the fact that they don't even dare to think about it and run from this question as fast as my mom runs from the frogs (that's pretty fast, believe me).

dreams.JPG
Relax, ignore my words, and just enjoy beautiful nature of Peru.

To be rich is not a dream. If riches didn't exist, what would be your ultimate goal in life?

I really hate pseudo-philosophers/teachers/hippies and I can see how I sound like one now, but seriously... Do you have an answer to the question above? Also, I might be damned, but I must say that raising kids is also not a dream. Yes, it is an important task which we should prioritize, but it is never a dream or a goal. In my eyes, someone's life goal must be focused around him/her (I am an egoistic prick, I guess) and it should be self-orientated... It should be all about your evolution from inside.

I do get sad when people tell me that they never had this kind of a dream and just worked in an office all their life, enjoying that comfortable slavery that the society provides. It really breaks my heart because I can see how those people live with some suppressed depression and sadness for wasting their life, doing things they don't care about.

So, what's your dream/goal, my friends?

I don't ask you to write it here. I only ask you to answer this question honestly to yourself. And remember, your dream might not always be what you like... your dream is what you need.

Sort:  

I'm now 77 , how much time I have left? Who really knows. The last twenty or so years l have spent attempting to become that which I was not during my younger years. Great post..............billytwohearts

Well, some people never do that at all, so I think you should be happy about your life now! Thanks, Billy!

My dream is to be financially free, to the point where I can work only for pleasure and not out of necessity

That is certainly important and I am aiming for the same thing, but I don't think it is a dream. What work would you want to do for your pleasure? What would you want to achieve? That might be your dream. Being financially free is just a small and obvious first step to take toward your dream, don't you agree?
Thanks for the answer!

nice post ,,, you have good blog , Good luck. Comrade

I agree with you about being rich or a parent isn't a goal/dream. I have many dreams that I am gonna fullfil and I am really excited about doing so. My dream is what keeps me going during difficult exams and I also think it is healthy to have an overall happy everyday life "wrapped" with a dream that is special to you. Thanks for the post, it was the best one I saw today.

The rich dream is more about the freedom the money brings them. Isn't​ that what everybody​ truly wants? To be free.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63248.94
ETH 2576.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85