You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is philosophy a science? - With an example involving a bear (what more could you want?!)

in #philosophy7 years ago

I guess a good classical example that comes to mind would be Meditations by Marcus Aurelius (currently listening to this so it came to mind), or something more modern and niche like Gorilla Mindset.

I have to concede to your point on the value of those things, but the question would be of value to whom? I personally find those examinations valuable. My mechanic probably doesn't care, but he might listen to his buddy give him a new perspective on his recent relationship problems that allow him to think positively again. It's not one size fits all, which is obvious to both of us and I certainly understand not the point you were trying to make.

Your comment on academic philosphers in general I thinks is spot on and I fully agree.

Sort:  

Oh and I can't understate enough what an amateur I am on the topic, so if I am misusing some of these terms or mischaracterizing some of the positions I apologize.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59934.86
ETH 2666.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45