You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do Dogs Have Souls?

in #philosophy6 years ago

The notion that we are alone seems incredulous to me given the vastness out there.

I agree completely. However, there is one bug in the ointment that bothers me and lots of others in SETI: the famous question of, "Where is everyone?"

With the size of the universe, the number of G-class stars and the probable number of planets in habitable zones (The Drake Equation), the radio spectrum should be fully teeming with artificial signals. We should have found far more than one by now!

So, where IS everyone? our first TV signals were sent over 70 years ago and we could have received some indication by technological civilizations within 30 light years. Instead, just crickets. Nothing.

I don't believe we are alone, either, but there seems to be nothing... anywhere. I'll put my bets on other life forms in our visible universe before I concern myself with extra-dimensional visitors.

The absence of signals is as interesting as the presence would be.

Sort:  

Given that we can't go to them I assume that they will come to us first. I also assume that the chances of 'first contact' happening in our lifetime is remote...more remote than the notion that they have already been here and are probably observing us right now. We see such a tiny fraction of the light spectrum that I also assume there is an astronomical amount of information around us that we simply cannot yet access. I also assume that even if contact had already been made...we would probably not know about it anyway such are the levels of secrecy and deception around us. There's a lot of assumptions there I admit but like I said I haven't done much serious research into the topic. I'm just using my gut. I posted about my UFO experience earlier...you may find that story interesting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 68055.12
ETH 3813.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72