Sort:  

The one I have found to be closest to correct is a translation from George Lamsa. Mr Lamsa was a shepherd in the hills in the early 1900 (1908 I think), when they were discovered by some explorers. They tribe he was with still spoke Aramaic as an active language! He left and went to Oxford eventually. He translated the Bible, and since a large part of it was in Aramaic, his translation is just using the language he grew up with. Interesting insights, he had an impressive advantage.

I use and love, the KJV in my quad Bible, it is where I read most often. I have found a VERY few translation errors in the KJV. Mostly in punctuation (like your lawyers? LOL!) that was not part of the Bible text, as there is no punctuation used in the original text.

Thank you, Toby, That is very interesting, new info for me. But, not being versed in Aramaic, I would not know if a translation was true or not. The KJV will continue to serve me well, I think.

Actually, I was not aware that there is no punctuation used in the original text! How easy it to assume!

Yes, the early texts had none. I have a good friend ( I do engineering projects with) that reads Hebrew. He teaches English in Israel a couple of week a year, so he is a lot of help studying old texts. He is a Christian Jew, and I respect him a lot!

Get the Lamsa Bible, and keep using the KJV for your daily carry. The only translation error is where the KJV says the it is easier for a Camel to go through the eye of a needle, than for a rich man to enter Heaven! In Aramaic, the symbol for Camel can also mean a rope made from Camel Hair; and is dependent on context as to which is inferred. The translation should read it is easier for a rope to go through the eye of a needle...that moves this verse from nonsensical, to full clarity.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 68055.12
ETH 3813.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72