What is true love all about?

in #philosophy7 years ago

What is true love all about?

Everyone wants to know what true love is, and many people think they can feel it when it happens, but do they?

Are they experiencing true love or are the experience infatuation, lust, or even wishful thinking?
**

10917094_10152576720892944_2455008772211083305_n.jpg

Is true love something that is actually possible, or is it all in our heads?

What Is Love?

Is it true we have one true love and if we don't find it we will never find it ?

I recently had the honour of caring for a lovely elderly lady and she told me all about her life . She married her childhood sweetheart at 17 and had three beautiful children by the time she was 21. She said they worked hard and lived for each other . She explained him as tall , dark , handsome and her everything which brought a tear to my eye. He unfortunately passed away at 43 following a short battle with cancer. She explained her loss as being unable to breath , her purpose in life was taken and she found it difficult to understand why her one true love had gone . After 5 years alone she joined a work colleague at a bingo evening and there he was her 'silver fox' sat opposite her . She knew she was being given a second true love in life . They have been married 27years now and she knows there is always time for a second chance and truely believes she had two true loves in her life.

Marriage and relationships are hard and can be a battle.

image.jpeg

Over the course of a relationship a lot happens, people Change, Personalities change, bodies age, and romance and be quickly swapped for complacency . We take vows to love our husband/wife we accept these changes, in sickness and health , till death do us part . Is it that these relationships were not true love? Or is it society today where it is easier to meet people, have cyber relationship and find it easier to walk away from relationships.

In order to understand true love, we need to understand our own perception of love.

image.jpeg

My perseption of Love is defined as an intense feeling of affection for someone, viewing someone as awesome and desirable based on your beliefs, judgments, and experiences but accepting we all have difference in opinions and views.
Once you decide that someone is attractive to you mentally and physically, love also becomes a biological process. Your body takes over and reinforces what your mind already knows – that this person makes you feel amazing!

I always believe love was an impossible dream, a Fairy Tale only to be read in children’s books or see on the movies. Someone once told me true love is being unable to live without a person , I was told this whilst single when self-sufficient and I thought How could I not live without someone, I am me, I would be happy alone but then I met my husband and I knew I couldn't live without him. I was bless to meet my husband 6 years ago I from the first moment I saw him I just knew he would be my future.

19420748_10154684650997944_9136132357253858930_n.jpg

Before I met my husband I was independent and very career minded, I didn't want children , I was not maternal, the thought of children scared me . I didn't know how to hold children or interact with them they all just used to cry at me .And after witnessing my parents with a messy divorce I never wanted to get married .

6 years later we are have just celebrated our third year anniversary with a beautiful baby girl and hoping to soon have another baby.

24232003_10155133209112944_2064406432619567066_n.jpg

There are scientific facts to show that we show a physical reactions of love, it’s a neurological condition where we feel bonded to something or someone else. When we feel attached to someone else, our brain releases chemicals such as serotonin, oxytocin, vasopressin, dopamine, and norepinephrine. All of these chemicals cause us to think loving thoughts and feel the physical sensations that we associate with love. These hormones include:

– Serotonin: This hormone increases your mood; in fact, if you take drugs such as Ecstasy, you cause a huge rise in serotonin levels. You might as well just find someone to love instead – it’s healthier.

– Oxytocin: This has been referred to as the biological basis for love. This hormone is released during cuddling and sex and it helps to give you the feeling of attachment to someone else.

– Vasopressin: Along with oxytocin, experts believe that this hormone is responsible for feeling attached to someone.

– Dopamine: This hormone is responsible for desire and reward, which means you feel an immense amount of pleasure when you are rewarded with loving actions, such as kindness, touch, date night, or whatever makes you feel fulfilled and happy.

– Norepinephrine: This is released when you are falling in love and feel stress for things to work out and go well. It gives you the physical sensations you feel while falling in love, such as sweaty palms or a racing heart.

fwis-loreal-the-science-behind-love-395.jpg

The science has spoken true love exists and don't ever give up finding it we all deserve our true love.

Sort:  

Congratulations @williamsbg! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @williamsbg! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66201.27
ETH 3279.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70