You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Overthinking, Analysis Paralysis, and Addiction

in #philosophy7 years ago

We’ve been down a similar path, though my addictions were mostly things which people don’t really associate with addiction. I’ve also developed a habit of addressing negative thoughts as well and learning to replace them without denying how I feel. Once I got in the habit, I found Everything kind of started falling into place, and when it doesn’t I know I’ve missed something.

It’s interesting what you said about being addicted to the recovery process. I remember a family member telling me all about AA and how brilliant one of the fundamental ideas was, something you mentioned, to focus on what you can change and forget what you can’t. Still I always felt offput by this continuous identification with being an addict, like once an alcoholic, always an alcoholic, as if it’s the alcohol that’s the problem and not the addiction. I never saw that as being very productive, not nearly as productive as the other take away, focusing on the present.

I really enjoyed this read.

Sort:  

It seems many problems come from our labels of things and the inferred meaning and associations we learn from society.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60856.28
ETH 2937.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44