Faith and Reason: My Experience with Religion - Part 1 of 3

in #philosophy7 years ago (edited)

It was a time of change and inner turmoil. I had left my job due to high anxiety and depression and I felt rudderless and lost. I started looking for a community that shared some of my Christian beliefs. I was baptized Catholic but was not raised to believe anything in particular nor did I attend church. My father was a firm bible believer and I think I got some of my ideas from him. I loved to read at an early age and found books on religion and philosophy fascinating. My mother shared this interest with me. She was much more open minded with these type of things.

directory-466935_640.jpg

I believed in God, particularly the god of the bible. It was something I always just assumed to be true. When I first decided to read the new testament I was even more sure of it. The old parts were not that important to me for some reason. I committed to read it later. As for the other books, they were interesting but just didn't have the same attraction that Christianity had.

Now I was looking for others to share this with. I was ready to put aside some of my theological differences with many churches to become a member. I was ready for a commitment. So I started looking for churches in my area. This was important because I was still quite anxious and didn’t want to go too far from home. Those who have experienced this know the feeling.

Stay tuned for Part 2 ...

me.resized.JPG
Follow me!

Sort:  

The pastor is the church, so I think people can relate. Gotta pick the right one. There's a lot of good ones and a lot of nuts.

Following this story. I have a complicated relationship with religion and I'm always interested in learning more about others' paths.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62205.55
ETH 2397.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50