What good is a MILLION DOLLARS if I just want to SLEEP?

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)

Imagine that you are sleepy, you are very sleepy. You are in perfect harmony with its environment, with its nature, and don’t want anything, absolutely nothing, except sleep.

What would happen if, in those conditions, I gave you a million dollars?

What would you do?

Pay the rent? Buy a new house, maybe a car? Would you spend them on luxuries? Would you invest in crypto?

No. We already clarified that the only thing you want is to sleep. You don't want a million dollars, that we clarify above, you just want to sleep. What would you do with those million dollars? Nothing. You would not even accept them.

Maybe you think, well, that I wanted but no longer, were other circumstances, what one cannot change his mind?

It's okay. I'll give you the million dollars, but you know what else I'm going to do, I'm going to disappear all the people, all the living beings, all that have a soul, from this hypothetical scenario.

Now what are you going to do? Are you going to keep the million dollars, or go to bed at once?

Oh, I see, then go to bed.


Did you see what I just did? I just gave you a wonderful lesson, if you are sleepy, go to sleep. No, it was not that, although that should also be done, the goal of that was not that.

The value of things is subjective, is not dictated by anything inherent in things, is dictated by our interests. From there to if you are sleepy, it will be better to find a bed than a million dollars.

The example is absurd of course, but not the message.

In economics there is something called the scarcity principle, while something scarce is, the greater the value. But, what is it that dictates the scarcity? Scarcity is dictated by the desire of people to get something, so, 100 apples are plentiful if people only want one, but if people want a million, the same 100 apples will be scarce.

Then, depending on your desires, having 100 apples can represent scarcity or abundance. So, if you think about it for a moment, you will realize that you are, ultimately, the one who decides how rich you are, how valuable you are, and also how satisfied you are with what you have.

The more you want what you have, the more value these things will have, which in turn will make you more satisfied with what you have.

The more you want what you don't have, the more value those things will have, which in turn will make you poorer, more dissatisfied, which translates into suffering, because you cannot satisfy a "need".

You should not confuse what I say with material attachment. If you value the things you have, that is because you understand their why, that is, because you understand the purpose and meaning of the things you have.

Nor should confuse what I say conformism, because conformism occurs when you change your needs to adapt to the circumstances, I am telling you otherwise, change the circumstances to adapt to your needs.

So, to conclude, the more value you give to what you lack, the poorer you will be, the more value you give to what you have, the richer, and all this translates into greater or less satisfaction and/or harmony with your existence and with your state.

He is not rich that possesses much, but he that is content with what he has.


Image Source: 1

Sort:  

A Million Dollars would improve my quality and duration of sleep.
My problems are a lack of a million Dollars and hypothetically receiving them only when it is too late, when I only want to sleep, and hence it is an unfair scenario.

lol...

I never said it was a fair scenario, if you really need a million dollars then don't sleep until you get them. :)

So, to conclude, the more value you give to what you lack, the poorer you will be, the more value you give to what you have

Amen!

Thanks for that reminder @vieira. By the way last night I was woken up for some reason and had a nice dream concerning my dad. Usually I don't dream much. And I was wondering why I wasn't dreaming about all that stuff I have read on the internet for houres before going to bed. Yeah sleep is the real important thing!

So you don't want the million dollars? :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64210.52
ETH 2627.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76