You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do you feel like if you died right now, you would have no regrets?

in #philosophy6 years ago

I believe, perhaps in my ignorance I don't know, that you can only live life well after you don't fear losing it. If you cling to life you will stop doing things that you want to do simply for fear of losing it, and worse, you would be willing to do things that you don't want to do simply to maintain it.

Only when you accept death can you be sure to live as you want to live, and if you want to live forever, you will make that life, sometimes more sometimes less, miserable.

Sort:  

I want to live forever, but at the same time I know I won't, so I don't mind the vicissitudes of fate. Like a stone on the shore, one day I will wear out and that will be it.

Would you really, really, like to live forever? Because it is very easy to say "forever", but it is more than usually thought.

Forever are not 10 years more, or 100 years more, not 1,000 years more, not 10,000 years more, not 100,000 years, not 1,000,000 years, but thousands and thousands and thousands, and millions and millions and millions, and hundreds of billions of years.

It seems long enough for everything you do to lose all meaning or purpose.

I personally cannot with so much time, and if you think about it, to fear death is simply to fear the unknown, because we really don't know anything about it. To want to live forever is to fear death to some degree, and to refuse to experience something of which we will never know if we live forever.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54295.07
ETH 2287.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31