You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: We Are Not Good People

in #philosophy7 years ago

In my mind, there is no good or bad. this are only perceptions. everything is a projection of our own prejudice and what we think or feel in the moment. If a poor mother steal food to feed her child, is she good or bad? It depend if your the store owner or the baby.
In the book 'the stranger' by albert camus, Meursault is having a trial for murder, and one of the main things that influence the story is that he did not cry in his mother's funeral.

In January 1955, Camus wrote:
I summarized The Stranger a long time ago, with a remark I admit was highly paradoxical: 'In our society any man who does not weep at his mother's funeral runs the risk of being sentenced to death.' I only meant that the hero of my book is condemned because he does not play the game.

When a person do a "good thing" it's only to make himself feel good. there is not one non-egoistic act in this world.

Sort:  

I totally agree. I was actually planning to write a post questioning whether every action, no matter how seemingly altruistic in nature, is self-serving by default. I have not read the book you mention, but it sounds intriguing. Thank you for bringing it to my attention.

When a person do a "good thing" it's only to make himself feel good. there is not one non-egoistic act in this world.

Amazing deadly sentence my dear @vanessaondine. Never better said and couldn't agree more with this quote.

Hence, this final sentence on your comment, jointly with such a so coherently well written post by @thoughtfool, has made this reading imbatible.

¡Upvoted you both! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64294.06
ETH 3427.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59