You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "It's all about balance." Is it really?

Generally a well conceived and written post. I particularly appreciated the reference to Egyptian religious symbolism.

However, there are some unfounded assumptions, such as that our left and right brains operate optimally when equally called upon. It is rather that we each, as you noted, have our particular strengths, and tend to perform best when playing to our strengths.

As conditions change, our use of our various left- or right-brained talents become more or less important. But this is really a trivial criticism, one I am sure you would have arrived at, or been able to express had you focused more on the issue, rather than on your overall thesis.

A more serious criticism is that we should not be without strife. Any philosophical essay that neglects the importance of stress cannot promote growth. It is at the edges of our lives that we grow, where things are unknown, and chaotic. It is there we learn new things, and discover the things we thought we knew weren't true after all.

Balance, the concept of peaceful stability, has appropriate moments. Shredding on the edge of survival may well be more valuable and informative. Perhaps one must maintain a balance between peace and terror, love and anger, joy and grief, to really fully reach one's potential.

I know that those moments I most regret, those events I most desperately tried to avert, but which nonetheless overwhelmed me, the losses I feel most poignantly, are those from which I have most grown.

Peaceful, lazy days I barely remember.

Thanks for a thought provoking post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59583.90
ETH 2578.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48