If You Want Sanity - Try: The Native American 'Ten Commandments'

in #philosophy6 years ago

I don't pretend to be an expert in tribal teachings, but I do agree with these 10 guidelines for balanced living...



Balance has a way of making itself known and felt - no need for anything flashy or overpowering, just the light of consciousness being present enough to make the needed difference.

Wishing you well,

Ura Soul

Vote @ura-soul for Steem Witness!


vote ura-soul for witness

View My Witness Application Here


(Witnesses are the computer servers that run the Steem Blockchain.
Without witnesses there is no Steem, Steemit, DTube, Utopian or
Busy... You can really help Steem by making your 30 witness votes count!
Don't forget, there are more than the 50 witnesses you see on the witness voting page in steemit.com)


steem ocean - diving deep into the blockchain

Find out your voter rank position at steemocean.com!


ureka.org

I run a social network too!

Sort:  

Seems there is a deep need across cultures to have 10 commandments to live by. Why is that? Why ten?

I actually don't know the origin of these 10.. They may have even been created in response to the christian ones.

Remain close to the Great Spirit

Which would it be? Some mythologies say that it lies within us, others that it's everything, others that it's the creator, others that it's just a being on which we live. My big brother says that he is God, lol, and he'll say "You're welcome!" anytime anyone utters "Thank God".

I like those commandments on the condition that they are non-dogmatic, merely a self-choice of gratitude and self-preservation. They're very pretty for that. :) They seem a bit repetitive at times, like I'd say that the commandments 1, 3, 4, 5 and 8 could be fused.

Great spirit has a specific identity to the tribes, though each individual may disagree somewhat with each other individual.

For me, 'great spirit' is the conscious light energy that originated the universe, of which we are all parts but which has it's own experience.

If you have time, could you elaborate on this conscious light energy? I've never heard that term. It seems similar to God but not of the Earth but of the Universe. Some kind of sentient being of uncertain composition and with the power to influence matter?

It is god, yes. A higher vibrational energy/essence than we commonly experience here in this world of form and density... However, we are not so far away - we can connect directly through correct alignment, receptivity and internal readiness. Some schools of yoga direct us to that, though they usually don't make that clear to students!

Oh! I didn't know that either. I have never practised yoga, although many of my friends keep urging me to. Thank you for the information! <3 :)

And your concept of God seems very intriguing. The only time I've heard something about vibrational energy was in the Black Panther movie, where there is an element that carries this vibrational energy. It was called Vibranium if I remember correctly.

You are welcome. Typically, the forms of yoga found in the west do not include the metaphysical aspects but some teachers can be found who understand. That said, I found I had to do significant amounts of other processing before I could connect - including fasting and emotional processing/healing.

Wow, that's amazing! It seems like a brilliant thing to try. :) I'm glad you managed it and had this wonderful experience.

I am also agree with you these 10 guidelines for balanced living.

everyone should follow this and maintains this.

everyone wanna freedom but everyone don't wanna hard work.

Thanks for share sif @ura-soul

It would not have been put in better. If one follows that, he'll live to have a happier/more fulfilled life.

I need to work on formulating my commandments.
I promise that they are better.

Great stuff. Though I prefer the term "agreement" (as Don Miguel Ruiz uses), as it implies the use of free will.

Absolutely, yes - I suspect the 'commandments' were intended to be more of a tongue-in-cheek rebuttal to christian dogma.

Ah yeah probably

Here is a crazy 10 commandments most people have never heard of. It is a mysterious stonehenge like place in Georgia. It is very controversial mostly due to the 1st commandment.

THE MESSAGE OF THE GEORGIA GUIDESTONES

  1. Maintain humanity under 500,000,000 in perpetual balance with nature.
  2. Guide reproduction wisely - improving fitness and diversity.
  3. Unite humanity with a living new language.
  4. Rule passion - faith - tradition - and all things with tempered reason.
  5. Protect people and nations with fair laws and just courts.
  6. Let all nations rule internally resolving external disputes in a world court.
  7. Avoid petty laws and useless officials.
  8. Balance personal rights with social duties.
  9. Prize truth - beauty - love - seeking harmony with the infinite.
    10.Be not a cancer on the earth - Leave room for nature - Leave room for nature.

BTW: Im not posting as a follower of these 10 commandments but found it very unusual.

Yes, I am aware of the Georgia Guidestones.. Clearly someone wants 8 billion humans dead!

They were created in the 1980, probably for the future inhabitants, in case we self destruct.

It was freaking me out when the total eclipse this past year almost went directly over it. Missed by about 20 miles I think.

nice philosophy. great work to do.keep it up.go on

Hi everyone! could you help me congratulate my sister through your upvotes.. thank you so much..

https://steemit.com/graduation/@jejes/help-me-congratulate-my-sister

this is something unique, life must be balanced with hard work, and never give up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17