You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are 'Good' Intentions Good Enough? The Road to Hell is Paved with Good Intentions

in #philosophy7 years ago

"It's the thought that counts." I usually hear that when someone is trying to fix people's relationships (romantic or otherwise) and ending up making the divide wider. In any case, I do agree. The result has the most impact in that it's the one that people will have to deal with after. Like how in a discussion the other day there was a mention about pulling a knife out of a stabbed person. A senior doctor pulled it out as a reflexive response even when he knew better. The man bled out and died despite the OR just a floor away. So from here, it's clear the doctor's instinct had him trying to help, bypassing training and reflexively pulling the knife out. And it cost someone his life. The intention was there but the action's outcome had been disastrous. So it's really important that our chosen actions have been evaluated first. No use rushing head on to execute something without any concretely appropriate plans.

Do you think intentions justify and excuse someone from what they did?
Have you even fallen for the "good intentions" excuse?
Did you use it yourself, or have it used on you?

I'm not going to be completely judgmental because I'm not about to blow everything out of proportion. After all, I've also have fallen on the "good intentions" trap and have heard it used a lot of times. If it's not getting someone killed or ruining someone's life indefinitely, I tend to let things go because when I do mess up like cleaning up the kitchen and unintentionally clearing stuff away and getting yelled at later, I feel crappy. And I'm not about to make someone else feel crappy over something like that. I'd be miffed if it happened to me, sure, but I'll forget about it anyway. But that's just me lol

Sort:  

Yeah, we move on for sure. I've only hear it a few time where someone said "the intention is what matters" or something like that, to excuse someone else or themselves. It can be from doing a wrong, or even getting a gift that is not liked, someone had the best of intentions lol. Thanks for the feedback.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58544.56
ETH 2629.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44