Shades of Truth

in #philosophy7 years ago

Screen Shot 2017-12-20 at 10.10.58 PM.png

I was talking to a friend today who had some recent troubles involving gossip and communication and arguments over facts and truth. So I told him this: "truth appears in shades and we each see only part of the spectrum." His reply was, "not in science." But I argued, "even there; everywhere."

You see, I've learned that truth, like perfection, is more subjective than we'd like to believe. Perfection is fluid and this is clearly illustrated by defining a perfect day. What is perfect to you in one moment most likely will not be perfect to you in twenty years. Change is the constant in life.

It's similar with truth, although not in the exact way. Think about it in terms of a camera lens. What's one of the most popular ways to prove something is "true"? Pics or it didn't happen!!! But if I take a picture with my mediocre camera and you take a picture with your high def, super zoom camera the images might look very different. Is one less true than the other? I say no.

Our human minds are limited. Until we start understanding and owning that, we're going to waste a lot of time on a whole lot of nothing. We cannot usually comprehend the full story of a thing - take the universe, for example. We kinda sorta have a clue, but even that starts scratching at edges where all known laws break down. Does that make everything we've learned until now less true?

Of course not.

At least not if you understand that the whole truth, by definition, is a spectrum that we can never see in totality.

What do you think?

Sort:  

I totally agree that everything is a spectrum--views, beliefs, and truths. For example, I think good people do bad things and bad people do good things. There is no black and white. The range of possibilities within this thing called reality is so immense that we can't imagine them all. And two people who have the exact same experience perceive it differently, remembering very different aspects of it. It's all very interesting to me. I once thought I was going to be a philosopher, then a psychologist, and finally settled on writing. They are all ways of making sense of our experience.

Yes! I love your last point - philosophy, psychology, writing - they all help us make sense of things. <3 Thank you!

Just think about Quantum physics! You can't directly look at the atom because the act of looking at something directly forces it to choose a state (when before it was in many states/positions at once). Life is all about perspective. Just because we see one thing doesn't mean that's the ONLY way it can be. ;) great post!

"truth appears in shades and we each see only part of the spectrum." His reply was, "not in science."

Okay I'm the same kind of guy but your post made me think about it! I'm now confused... :D

Haha...well, that's my goal if nothing else - to get you to think about it, and question. :D Thanks for stopping by.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @uniwhisp to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62904.22
ETH 2571.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76