You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: There Is No Such Thing As Free Will

in #philosophy7 years ago

This is definitely thought provoking. It doesn't matter whether or not I agree with you for me to say that I respect that you can post your opinion, even if it's contradictory, and then allow others to express theirs.

Sort:  

yeah, i wanted to see counter arguments but I haven't seen a single one so far.

Arguments make sense if agents have freedom of thought. When you deny freewill, you end up destroying the concept of rationality and you reduce everything to subjectivity and therefore absurdity. It's absolutely ludicrous to deny what's necessary to make sense of rationality, and then expect a rational discussion. I find it quite laughable to be honest while at the same time sad. Whether this denial comes from theists such as Calvinists whom I have dealt with a lot or atheists who have to ultimately deny freewill as there is no place for it in a world where time, chance and matter is all there is! :]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 65174.92
ETH 3530.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51