You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Our Corrupt Sense of Fairness" or Steemit's Incessant Rule Changes?

in #philosophy8 years ago
An example would be the 12 hour voting windows which was changed back to 24.

A perfect example!

I was not even aware that the rule was changed back to 24 hours, but I almost posted the other day questioning why my post were showing 24 hours until payout when it was supposed to be 12 hrs. If Steemit is going to constantly change the rules, at the least let everyone know the rules have changed and let us know on Steemit, not just on Github.

I've seen Dan, far too many times, guide users to Github for updates. We should not be sent to another website to read changes to the system, especially a change like the payout time, much less a website that is not owned and operated by Steemit the company.

This is simply counterintuitive IMHO. I feel that the changes, especially major changes like the payout time, should be posted here on Steemit with the notification system, much like what was used for hack updates. It should be highlighted where everyone will see it upon login and should not be able to be rewarded by upvotes.

Being rewarded for system updates has been a problem for some time and Dan & Ned should cease this practice instead of forcing the hand of a whale who will only be scolded later for reducing or removing the payout for such system change notices. But that's another article entirely. ;)

Sort:  

These people are very shady, I agree

Sorry read your responses in the wrong order (it's late lol). Yes definitely agree about informing people - there should be a channel for this and it seems shady to get rewarded for announcements.

I said on another of Dan's posts that he and the team need to separate their personal accounts from the official account or accounts that are used to inform people of things.

This is not just for financial reasons but to eliminate the obvious signs of conflict of interest. Steemit itself is made up of more than one person (or so I thought) - the current way of doing things makes it look like Dan's personal toy.

That does not give the right impression for a large multinational company (or at least a future one).

I think with hindsight @berniesanders may have been right on that post - the confusion for many of us arose because we sometimes have a hard time telling if something is a blog post or an official announcement.

Anyway sorry I think I'm rambling now because I'm tired. Time for bed I think.

Great discussion though.

Look forward to your post on this matter as I think it needs to be addressed and I would like to comment too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 65337.35
ETH 2583.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67