You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Keep Your Head Down, Don't Rock the Boat!

in #philosophy8 years ago (edited)

I find that as I get older, I seem to be less afraid of what others think. Is this just getting older and crankier and not giving a grackle what anyone else thinks?

The other aspect that I think is important is being able to face the truth from others, with understanding and consideration, if not necessarily instant acceptance of it as being a valid fact, at least the realisation that this is their truth as they see it.

Sort:  

Indeed, we have to be comfortable being alone, and not fear losing friends or ended up "abandoned" from speaking truth people don't want to hear.

Face the truth in myself for sure, this is about truth all around. Face the mirror, face reality, in all honestly, and see things as they are. Detach from the personal attachment and let go of what is blinding us from seeing reality.

I mentioned in my post yesterday that we need to honestly evaluate information, not simply accept it tacitly, nor reject it as pointed out and emphasized here.

Thanks for the feedback. :)

So you're saying as I get older, I care less about being alone? :)

Not necessarily. It's part of being comfortable standing on our own and not being dependent on the approval of others, so we are comfortable being alone and saying things that can cause people to reject us from their lives. Fear of losing people prevents us from saying what needs to be said.

Like I'm speaking on issues, and people will dislike me for it. I might get less upvotes from people who don't want to hear this, or even a flag if it "offends" someone or they see it as "causing trouble" on Steemit, etc. I could be silent, and just keep focusing on myself, and trying to be "successful", by letting everyone do what they want and not object to what is happening.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58776.30
ETH 2576.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44