You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Star Wars Philosophy

in #philosophy7 years ago

I think people view Star Wars at different angles/degrees. I've always taken it with a very lighthearted approach, 'good versus evil'. I think that's the draw for our societal value that we hear over and over, and its gotten old so i tune it out.

You seem to have read much more into the characters than I. I've never really noticed the color of the light sabers or read anything into that other than to note that they were different colors. I couldn't tell you who half of the characters are. That you've managed to see a gray jedi area is very interesting to me, because I never picked up on that.

I never got the games, and I'm not sure I even saw episode five, or was it six? so maybe there's a whole facet of the universe that I missed out on. shrugs. I do appreciate the connection you made between the force and the spectrum of light and dark. I'll have to pay more attention when I rewatch or catch the newer movies.

Even though I've never watched it, except for maybe a few episodes, I'd be interested in your take on Game of Thrones. From what I saw and heard in the bits I saw, it's basically a soap opera with a fantasy backdrop. Intrigue, murder, incest, with politics and plotting and elaborate set designs. I've heard that there's some good character development on the women's roles, however I'm not a TV person, nor to lie like continuing series not even in books. Curious as to your take on the underlying philosophy and themes in the book versus the movie.

Sort:  

Game of Thrones would be fun to do, but I would probably write a novel about the depth of it's philosophy. The TV show is actually very close to the novels, there are some adjustments, but overall the characters feel the same and it's extremely gray. "Killing in the name of" is a recurring theme I see in most fantasy and it's a trope that is both relevant and tiring as it is entertaining in it's own irony.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63715.34
ETH 2738.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61