How to deal with poor philosophy on Steemit: Meme-It

It's not easy to coach someone out of their invincible ignorance. If you care enough about them to try, you will likely encounter one of the following responses:

  • You'll never understand me unless you abandon your preconceptions.
  • Your worldview is so outdated.
  • If you had just read what I wrote with an open mind, you'd get it.
  • It's just like an [insertGROUP] to ignore science and reality.
  • I have every right to respond to your logic with rhetoric. It's MY blog after all.
  • History has been written by the winners, and they are all corrupt. Don't use historical sources.
  • Try to respond to my argument without [insertGENERALIZATION].
  • It is impossible to argue with someone who believes [insertBELIEF].
  • Don't use your [insertPHILOSOPHICAL_TECHNIQUE] on me. I'm free to write stream-of-conciousness nonsense and then yell at you when you break it down.
  • I'm a philosopher and you're an amateur.
  • Don't you get it yet? We're ALL [insertGENERALIZATION].
  • Re-read my post and think harder, then respond to me.
  • I've written a baseless opinion piece, and you respond with a differing opinion. Provide proof for your opinion, you simpleton.

While this list is by no means exhaustive, it probably reflects some of the dialogue you've seen under the #philosophy tag.
Folks, if you come across a writer who does not wish to engage your logic with goodwill and clarity of thought, I would encourage you to start responding with a simple meme of your own making. It is very, very satisfying. And you won't feel like you've wasted your energy.

If you don't agree with me, I don't care. Send me a graphic one-liner in the comments, right after you've upvoted and resteemed this.

brevity.jpg

DadBadge.png

Upvote-Comment-Resteem.jpeg

Sort:  

Great post! Amazing how there are so many people out there that feel that their opinion is the only one that coins and is the only one that is correct.

It's fun to watch. I've decided to stop casting my pearls before swine! :)

Ouch!

This wasn't meant for you. Studying and writing apologetics can be maddening! Especially when confronted repeatedly with the same arguments that have been thoroughly debunked 100 times over. I was just blowing off some steam.

Yeah, i didn't read it as something directed towards me... Even more difficult to imagine is the neo-Arians! Who knew?

Arianism by its very nature presumes that Jesus' question "who do men say that I am" has not been adequately answered. It just glosses over Peter's explicit confession that Jesus it the Christ! You see? Maddening I tell you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60429.72
ETH 2344.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52