You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are You Not Entertained? Physical vs. Intellectual Conflict

in #philosophy7 years ago

I have a hard time watching fights because I just don't understand it at all. I don't get how people can physically hurt other humans. It makes me sad that there's that much aggression out there.

Sort:  

I understand it, I just don't like it. I don't like how watching that activity still provides joy for so many through adrenaline and excitement. Yes, I watch movies with violence as well, but all the while a part of me knows it's not real and no one is actually being harmed. Could I be unfairly judging people for their preferences? Maybe, but I prefer to think of it as voicing my opinion in the spirit of open discussion about what we value as a species now and what we want to value in the future.

I think that's the part that bothers me as well--people watching it for entertainment. I'm so trying to teach my 3-year old that fighting and shooting others is not fun and games. He picked it up when he still had visits with his biological family and it's been hard to teach him what those things really mean.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59893.00
ETH 2414.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43