Sort:  

That is a coincidence! I needed some perspective and this quote reminded me of The Hours. Clarissa realizes that while she was searching for happiness she missed all of those meaningful moments a little too late. I have to bring myself back that because I'm often haunted by, "why?"
03d25d5d78957b91a47b9baa0be8efac.jpg

Ahh the ever-elusive "why?" I posted a comment on this earlier, stating that in trying to find a balance between introspection and being content, on the one hand, and striving for and accomplishing goals, on the other, it seems that I spend much time in a perpetual state of being "under construction." It kind of spooked me because, as I was sitting there typing the post, it hit me: when will I become a finished product. I mean I am all for learning and adapting and evolving, but I began wondering if at some point, I would be complete. Your "why" was a bit ambiguous but it seems relate-able to this post.

Oh my god yes... When I was a younger adult I was horribly depressed and made a list of my goals, doing small things to get towards them each day to build up to the larger things. When we moved I actually found that list and everything had been accomplished, only new goals were in it's place. Dennis says I'm always looking out for the next big thing, which is okay to an extent except like how you mention the feeling of "under construction." I agree we are always learning and growing but it's been a struggle for me to have goals and learn to be content in the moment because I suppose at one point having "a list" was a liferaft. Essentialy "why" encompasses everything. Why do we do what we do? Why are we here? Why do we chose to accept what we accept? Etc. The things that keep me up at night haha.

In some perspective, it actually means that more is accomplished; it just does not feel like it because there is always something else to conquer. The key seems to be, to maintain the thirst for accomplishment (if that brings you completeness, if not eliminate it), while cultivating the understanding that in fact you are evolving and bettering yourself. This will lead to better perspective and acceptance toward ourselves, which I think is fundamental towards completeness (I don't like using happiness because that simply has an emotive connotation to it. We can be happy and still not be complete, so i think perhaps being complete is a higher aim and virtue.) As for the other questions, it's important to never lose that curiosity!

"We can be happy and still not be complete, so i think perhaps being complete is a higher aim and virtue. As for the other questions, it's important to never lose that curiosity!" This sums it up. I suppose that is part of finding the balance.

I tied in what you said about thinking about fundamental life questions and not being able to sleep some nights, into my next post (briefly). It's gonna be about knowledge.

I will keep an eye out for it! I had some inspo as well for allowing ourselves to be a work-in-progress. I appreciate the feedback :) thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60844.65
ETH 2995.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88