You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It's all -not so- relative

in #philosophy7 years ago

"A newborn does not come into this world with a predetermined set of values thus a baby possesses minimal morality. " The minimal you are referring to is huge in my opinion. this a relative issue!!!!

Sort:  

Do we agree that a baby does not come into this world with a predetermined set of values?

Humans set on the top of the creation pyramid. Yet we are born the least knowing about what to do to survive. The only thing we know is sucking. i.e. it took me six years to learn how to clean myself after using the bathroom. The less intelligent the species the more built in survival knowledge it has at birth. But when it comes to moral concepts I think the opposite is true. I believe (I have no proof) that we have built in triggers for such morals and also emotions that get activated by age and/or environment. So the answer we disagree on that with all respect.

I don't disagree that we have built in triggers. In fact that's what I'm actually implying here. As you say though these are built in triggers, they do not come externally to us. This is what I'm saying by ''no predetermined set of values''. I knew nothing when I was born. My abilities to understand and remember evolved afterwards. Thus I didn't know any concept or value. I couldn't even do so.

You've touched a fine point in my post and there is also a comment where I clarify my position a little further, tried to add it as a footnote but didnt allow me.

We are getting closer to agreement. I like to raise the point to level where I want to claim that these moral concepts are built in our genes. A gain no Proof. My personal proof is my observation to little kids especially my owns. I notice the difference between them and the way they behave and think at very early age. No explanation but inherited behaviors in their genetic. Because they born and raised nearly the same way yet difference are big. If you are a parent you might agree. If you are not, may be when you become a parent you will remember this conversation.

I can't claim that it is tied to our genes but I have said that each person has a unique morality. Each person is unique, thus the difference. I'll let you know more about it when I have kids also :)

I think we have reached some kind of agreement. I will talk to you when you have children. Thanks for such lovely conversation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57850.91
ETH 2358.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43