You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The intentional miseducation of society

in #philosophy6 years ago

I'm sure @tarazkp might start disputing the measurements

I wouldn't dispute the measurement, I would dispute the relevance. Learning a skill and using it well are two different things. Give two individuals the same resources and they will use them differently. I could be wrong but I would suggest that if someone like Da vinci had a pool of resource as deep as the internet, he wouldn't be playing Farmville. Smart doesn't translate to intelligence.

Yes, food/hygiene (maybe too) are large factors in our capacity growth but it is also possible that we have reached a point that if we aren't careful, the environmental changes and substances we have created could push us backwards. If we look at the increase in opioid abuse and death in middle class america, it is a pretty good indicator that we aren't 'healthy' even though healthier than before in other areas. Depression is on the rise for a reason and it isn't because we are smarter.

The dumbing down I talk about isn't about brain capabilities, it is about cultural restriction (as you mentioned).

Sort:  

The dumbing down I talk about isn't about brain capabilities, it is about cultural restriction (as you mentioned).

It's a pity you didn't say that then.

But points well taken. There are a lot of opportunities today, they should be used and we should support those things which relieve and cure illness, that promote health in all it's factors and, yes I'm going to say it ... freedom.

It's a pity you didn't say that then.

If I have to spell everything out, how are you ever expected to learn? :D

yes I'm going to say it ... freedom.

I hope you screamed it with half your face pointed blue :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69428.61
ETH 3688.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.36