Finding a Voice

in #philosophy6 years ago

I seem to be coming down with something, a fever, a flu, I don't know yet but the last days I have been very tired and have even been sleeping more than usual. I don't like being sick and even though I am not the man flu type, I don't perform well. The worst part for me is not being able to think as clearly as I would like which slows me down in everything I do. I am not a big fan of downtime and when it is forced, I like it even less.

It is probably no surprise to people who read my work that I am not much of a fan of authority even if they are trying to improve the situation. In my opinion, it is better for individuals to learn via experimentation and mistakes than relying on someone or something to tell them how to act.

This is sometimes mistaken as me saying, don't listen to anyone which is not the case at all as I believe you should listen to almost everyone. But, I don't think you need to be influenced by everything you hear. It is possible to listen and consider without having to onboard the ideas.

Someone mentioned the other day when I said something about my wife deserving more than I can offer that they think it is not a good idea to be 'drowned in thoughts like that' which I find amusing. People are so worried about having negative thoughts that they try to avoid having them but, it is a losing battle. Thinking negatively is not drowning in the thoughts, it is considering various aspects of something from various perspectives.

In my opinion, those who may be drowning in their thoughts are the ones who are habitually fighting their thoughts and punishing themselves when they are unable to think the way they want to think. They keep going around in circles and because they are afraid to investigate some sides to avoid the emotions that may arise, they are unlikely to get off the loop.

This is the problem with listening to people and acting upon ideas without truly considering them deeply. We have been drummed with the idea that in order to be successful and feel good, we must think positively without considering that in order to solve some of our problems, we must explore the dark corners of who we are, face our fears, and this requires thought and reflection.

If we choose to ignore these thoughts because we fear getting engulfed by them, the problems that affect us are all the more likely to cause us pain and suffering but, we will have very little chance at being prepared or finding a solution.

The title of this post is Finding a Voice because in my opinion, to really find our path and our unique voice, we have to explore all parts of us in both the positive and the negative. If we choose to bow to authority and do as they say, we end up sounding like all others who bow to the same. What are the chances of finding one's own sound when all the words that come out are the heard words of others?

This is something that many people don't consider when they act on the 'get educated' concepts sold as the education that is pushed is nearly all an education sold en masse. Is it an education if everyone learns the same thing from a book or is it a brainwashing? Hard to tell without enough experience outside of that system.

In the last year, I have pulled heavily away from nearly all forms of media, news, social platform activity, magazines, shows and instead been writing. This wasn't just because if Steemit though, it actually has been building up well before as I found that all of the same repetitive themes were being pushed across all genres and, I was losing my ability to think laterally for myself.

Now that I spend the majority of my spare time writing, I have found that I am again the creative child I once was who is able to think about all kinds of things without limiting my thoughts on what is considered right or wrong. Some people seem to think that thinking negatively will somehow make them negative, immoral or somehow ethically compromised but in my experience, it has increased my awareness and improved my sense of community and drive for a more ethical future.

It is not that the thoughts that I have are any better than anyone else's I could have just read but, they are mine and I have been able to reach them through a processing and distillation of a whole range of experiences without having to be 'told' they are correct or not. This means that I am much more likely to adhere to the ethics and act on what supports my soft conclusions.

They are soft of course because things are always changing and very few rules can cover a lifetime without adjustment to the changing environments. The problem with listening to others without really creating the ideas ourselves is that as things change, we do not necessarily have the tools to change along with them and must again subscribe to the directions of others. Soon, this becomes a complete reliance and we are unable to critically think our way through the simplest of issues.

I don't think it is accidental that these types of processes are pushed upon us as in time, it makes us continually reliant on authorities and we reinforce their status by repeating their words to others. Where is our own voice in the crowded seas all chanting the same words?

Of course, maybe it is just a fever speaking through me. I don't like being ill but writing ill can sometime be an interesting experience as the compromised body affects the thoughts that arrive. Still, I will soon go to sleep and hopefully in the morning I will be back to my 'normal' self.

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Sort:  

@tarazkp You think better when you are sick. j/k Nice realization though! As for me, our mind is really a powerful tool.And whatever we are thinking may it be negative or positive, it resonate to the other aspect of our well being most importantly the way we feel (emotional aspect).

Just started reading and I think this is a missing concept to most 'post-modern' people:
"Thinking negatively is not drowning in the thoughts, it is considering various aspects of something from various perspectives."
I like where you are going with this... (But I am getting called to dinner. Will read the rest soon!)

And I hope you get better soon! Get that rest you need so much!
I have been sick more this year than any year before. Am I getting weaker or are the bugs getting spread more? IDK

I agree that steemit is the gift which motivate plenty of people to finally share their thoughts and knowledge. They finally feel like they get heard and wnt to get heart for the rewards they get. Steemit made my the creative girl I was too, and I am improving my writing a lot. I know I am not good yet, but soon, I will be! Thank you steemit!

Love,
Sha

I think people are very pleasing to not realize.
The whole world is different in terms of thinking and principles. Each has its own idea and culture.
If you want to please them all, how is that?.
In my opinion, try and cross your mind and live your life just as you love. And leave the talk and thought involved.Really exchanging ideas with a lot of people is also good. But do not let the negative thoughts of people affect you.
I agree with you in everything you said. The person who took the negatives about your wife or about you is a negative person who does not care.
Thank you my dear @tarazkp

"It is not that the thoughts that I have are any better than anyone else's I could have just read but, they are mine and I have been able to reach them through a processing and distillation of a whole range of experiences without having to be 'told' they are correct or not."

Yeah, we all have our own experiences, our own world, our own challenges, our own escape routes, what works for us and what doesn't.

I can't choke you with my points, and in the same vein, you can't choke me with yours.

We all have that FREEWILL and CHOICE basically.

@tarazkp, to Me, you have been a great source of inspiration, an embodiment of wisdom and I'm grateful for every blogspot you have dished out cuz they always something to take home

First of all, get well soon😊And Yeah, I absolutely agree with you, avoiding negativity and negative thoughts will never lead you anywhere, you have to face them and try solving them while you can.Plus a good thought on being original and having your own opinion on everything is only a good thing;)

The structured educational system cannot deal with the realities on ground. People come out of school and find that all they had been taught about life was utter rubbish. True education is learning from life; whether yours or another's not the coached, outdated repetitions of professors who have professed nothing.

I too dislike rules and authority and the ways with which people are made to accept one concept as correct. An example: my father worked for a government owned company almost all of his working life. When he retired, he was supposed to be paid pension, as per, a government staff. Do you know that till date, there's still a case in court over this pension? He has not received a dime. Annoyingly, he still subscribes to the get-a-degree-get-a-government-job belief system. The fact that I refuse to apply for jobs vacancies ran by government agencies pisses him off. Lol.

The point is, the system failed him but he still believes it because he was led to believe that it was the best. This is what I don't like.
I am free to be whoever I want to be. Writing is my occupation, poetry is my passion; the world will have to bend to my wishes.

I hope you get well soon. A bowl of hot peppersoup will do you real good. Peace

Get well soon dear @tarazkp

We cannot avoid negative thoughts..The 'motivational people' always ask their disciple to think positively.yeah,as they frequently say,It is true that it has a proven scientific connection with our body and mind.But to be able to live such a divine life we have to go to Himalayas as Sanyasis (sages)

As you rightly said, 'The Education Market' brainwashes us to think what it commands rather than directing us to think ourselves.It is a global concern.I think only parents can do something fruitful here.Good parenting has the power to create a new progressively thinking world.Awareness should focus on that area too!

thank you dear @tarazkp for sharing your amazing thoughts with us first of all i would like to tell you that hope you are fine as soon as possible and hope you be better assap: well, "In my opinion, it is better for individuals to learn via experimentation and mistakes than relying on someone or something to tell them how to act". you are right i agree with your opinion experimentation and mistakes give a better learning. thanks again for sharing your valuable thoughts have a great time

Avoiding negativity serves no purpose whatsoever. Pain and darkness is a natural part of life, and something that we all go through. It is only because we have experienced darkness that we can actually enjoy the light... No wait, that sounds way too religious.
Without negativity, it is really hard to recognize something positive. And reflecting upon negative aspects of life is what helps us grow.

Like stress, people have been told negative thoughts are bad for us, and bought in to the falsity deeply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01