Can I buy you a drink?

in #philosophy7 years ago

Does it feel good for a guy to get hit on at a bar? Yes. For me anyway. And I have been hit on many times over the years. There is only one problem I encounter with many of the people that approach me. I am not gay.

Over the years, especially when younger (and prettier), I would get guys quite regularly attempting to pick me up. Many of them even saying things like, "I know you aren't gay, but a guy can still try."

Yes, you can try all you want. I don't mind at all.

For some men, if a gay guy hits on them they get offended as if it is a reflection on them as a heterosexual male. As if it was ludicrous that anyone could possibly mistake them for being gay.

I have a quite a few gay friends and many have women hit on them without ever realising that they are gay. Should they be offended too? It would appear gaydars malfunction (or are switched off) on occasion, especially with a few drinks added.

I remember in my younger days politely rejecting advances at bars and having my friends tease me about being hit on by a guy, as if I should be ashamed.

I always had a silly witty retort like, "If the guys want to buy me a drink, do you know what your girlfriend wants to do for me?"

Silliness.

When close friends talked with me about it on occasion I was a little more serious. I would ask how many guys it would take to hit on them before they took one up on the offer. All of them said there is no number, except for one who gave a number of drinks.

Ok, so I am straight. There is no number of guys that can hit on me before I turn gay. Zero. Due to this, there is no risk in them hitting on me, no reason to be offended, no way to turn me. Plus, it is not like it is affecting my chances of meeting interesting women. So why be worried?

And if I do ever discover differently, I was actually wrong and then become a gay guy. Better to find that out before I live and die a straight lie.

I find it interesting that some people get offended by these events. Many men have tried their luck at trying to pick up a girl that they probably know they have next to zero chance with. Should the girl be offended? Some are perhaps.

I also find that those who are homophobic are often the ones that are easily outraged by all manner of things. They scream and shout and have very little emotional control when things do not go their way. Lack of emotional control in someone trying to act manly is interesting too. These same people usually get emotional under all kinds of scrutiny.

There was one person I knew who was quite religious and outspoken against the sin of homosexuality. At one point, he was talking to me about his religion and I was questioning him on a number of topics. Since I maneuvered the conversation into a position where his beliefs were conflicted, he felt "attacked and persecuted" in his faith. He said how it is not fair, people should be able to believe whatever they want without being attacked for it.

Shouldn't he then offer the same courtesy to a gay person?
After all, I think there is a golden rule in there somewhere.

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

I don't go to a bar very often any more but when I do, I am a little disappointed because guys don't hit on me anymore. I think I am out of fashion.

I better add a caveat. These are my experiences and my words and I take life so seriously, I joke about anything.

The photo is one I took in Barcelona a few years ago.

Sort:  

I would feel like a creep purposely hitting on a girl at a bar. If a gay man hit on me I would be as flattered as if girl hit on me, but I would also think its pretty creepy.

I always found bars terrible places to meet new people. Fun to drink a bit with friends but generally too loud for me as I am a bit of a talker. When young, it was a common place to be though.

A agree, its hard to get to know people in a crowded loud space with alcohol flowing, but some might say it makes it easier so...

I was ill and couldn't drink around the time much of this happened so learned to speak without dutch courage.

I feel it dude, I am recovering from illness and cannot drink, it makes me very ill :(

I miss having a wee drink.

Interesting read @tarazkp , thanks. It reminds me of the time my wife and 2 children went to Disney World for vacation. Little did we know that there was some kind of gay convention being held the same week. I remember getting on the elevator with my family including our baby carriage for my 2 yr old daughter, ready to take on a full day at Disney World. We stopped on another floor to let 2 gay men on and I remember getting "eyed-over" and the comment quietly said by one of them "Tsk, tsk, such a shame" (Taken by me to mean here's this good looking guy and he's married)

Regarding the following;
"At one point, he was talking to me about his religion and I was questioning him on a number of topics."

Speaking as a Christian there is a bible verse that I always have on the forefront of my mind when talking to non-believers;

1 Peter 3:15
But sanctify the Lord God in your hearts, and always be ready to give a defense to everyone who asks you a reason for the hope that is in you, with meekness and fear;

Key word meekness
Thanks again.

The city I used to live in has the recovery week after tge Sydney gay mardi gras. Always interesting times.

These are the types of conflicts I was speaking with him about at the time. Too many pick and choose their belief for whatever fits their preferences but fail to evaluate it for consistency.

Thanks for taking the time to comment again :)

It's a huge compliment! You can bet if the same sex is keen then there's a queue for the opposite sex!

Cool, mines a gin and tonic 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97