A look into the future

in #philosophy7 years ago

This post was planned to be different than this but, as life so often reminds, things changed. Not in a bad way at all though, in a great way. I am trying to get a few of the people I help off the ground and have spent the last couple hours with one of them. It feels really good.

Last night I wrote a post about being part of the community both at Steemit and in the localised real world but, it is not good enough to just write about it in my opinion, there needs to be action. I am slowly becoming braver in my onboarding here as I become more comfortable myself with Steemit. Someone joked last night that I am a 'Steem shill'. Perhaps, but in my opinion to be a shill, you can't believe what you say. I have invested myself too and my fate is tied to everyone else's here.

In the real world though, I still play a role in the community and at the moment, it is also tied somewhat to Steem and Steemit. Being able to help a few people find their feet at Steemit opens up the potential for a few more, and then a few more. I am hoping that as I have, they too will rediscover parts of themselves that have laid dormant or they never even knew existed. There is massive value in this in the real world. This is also what I do for my IRL work and have had a fair level of success with people.

In my idealistic future, all of us will have the opportunity and space to work at the things they not only enjoy but, find valuable for others at times also. Currently, most just do what they do for the money. This often means that their time is spent avoiding work they dislike rather than working at what they love.

As more automation and AI come into the scene, more people will find their working hours diminished and there will be space to play but to do well, creativity is required. My vision of dystopia is that this space is used to consume and be entertained, rather than develop skills and processes that were impossible to work on before. A creative mind is not one of avoidance.

A large part of my posting behaviours are tied to improvement processes across many areas and exploring how I and we can find ways to be better at the things we do every day. I might not be able to improve the world on a large scale but, what if someone here at Steemit or along our spiralling circles can?

Wouldn't it be brilliant if we are able to provide many people the opportunity to make this world better? With enough of us pushing, there will be many small successes, a few medium and occasionally, some massive movements will begin. The kinds of things that can change our world. We are all a part of this like it or not, engage or not, succeed or not.

We have an opportunity here to really make differences in lives of many, not just the rich nor the poor, but for everyone involved. And, as it spills into the real world whether through currency injections or skill development, we can change the lives of people at local levels. The lives of family, friends, neighbours and a whole range of people we will never see or know.

I can't predict the future nor have a massive influence upon it but, I know I can work at making it better than it is currently and I know that investing in the success of others who want to improve is a good way to make things move.

The picture is of my wife and daughter looking out to the lake on a foggy day. To me, this represents the future of my family, unknown. I cannot say where we will be in a day, a week, a month from now. I do not know what we will face, what windfalls may arrive or what failures will take away but, we will face the uncertainty together.

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Sort:  

I always say... You can do your best, and at some point that will fail! I used to feel like you can't do any better than your best! And if your best fails... well maybe it just wasn't for you!

I since realized... that you can do your best and it may fail. But if you do your best at all times... even in failure... Your Best Gets BETTER! That was a mindblowing revelation!

I think you live by something else I have said consistently in my life... "You can't change the world... but you can change yourself! Then the world can change! " I really agree with you about the actionable part of changing or growing, as an individual and a community! Talk is cheap.... Actions Do Speak Louder Than Words! Thank You For Your Actions, Attitude, and Ethics! They are greatly appreciated and a model of what this community needs more of as a whole!

This platform has much to offer but many people simpily don’t have the time or patience to invest in learning how it works. Kudos to you for helping others get up and running on Steemit. The more people sharing good content the better it is for us all.

It does take a lot of work and I know that for the first many months here, I had no idea what I was doing. I wish that I had a mentor to help me along the way and introduce me to a lot of the tech, people and opportunities here. I did okay still, but it was through a massive grind. I am hoping I can at least ease it for some.

Yeah. People on steemit have helped me change my life. No doubt in that. I am trying to do the same with my poetries and articles but no one reads them anyway 😛😂😂 Their bad luck 🤷🏻‍♀️. But yeah, i write for those who want to change their life. I wish i could change their lives bu giving then some good upvotes as well, but, i will have to wait until i earn some steem power.

I think thats the key, people who are writing here with their sole purpose to earn money are not changing any lives, and thats why not getting much success. May be if we only think the way u do, as in, we cant help everyone but even if we help a few, that would be enough, may be if we write to help others instead of ourselves, we all might receive some success here on steemit !!

The writing and posting is not enough. You need to be part of the community in other ways too. Try finding people in discord or steemit.chat, look for people that may need help and do what you can.

🤔 i speak to many people but yeah most of them are either from my country or write about the same things that i do. I try to help them but most of the people just want me to upvote their stuff whereas i know that my vote wont help them right now, but may be later. How else can i help anyone as of now. But now i will think about other ways i can contribute. Thanks for that.

the most beautiful sentence I've read today.Thanks

Amazing and motivated [email protected] cannot be predicted even statistians who works on prediction can never predict on someone future.
To my own believe what you will be in life depend on how you work toward it, what will be the prediction of an idle or lazy. Only God know the beginning and the end of someone...if you want to be great in life you have to work hard for it. A proverb said "you will eat what you sow" thank for the inspiration post...

Socializing on this platform is easier said than done. 99% of the people here are profit minded,and don't care about what people post, so somehow, when we reach out, no one takes our hand. Was the photo taken with a camera, or your phone?

It isn't an easy journey and requires a lot of trial, error and adjustment. What I find is that many expect to have it always on their terms. 'I will be me, take it or leave it' but still want the support of people who then choose to leave it. I think it is about finding your niche and building out from it. Helping others. Finding people who challenge you.

It was taken on an Olympus EM-1

Well spoken! You always know how to get to me with your writings, and always have the best replies. I always look forward to a new post by you. Kudos

We have got a lot of opportunities from this platform, me and my friensds have been able to realize the beauty of steemit. As you said we can't always know much about the future, we just need to do our best for our own good.

Wouldn't it be brilliant if we are able to provide many people the opportunity to make this world better?

yes, by promoting steemit, or even help people realize such potential opportunities.

he picture is of my wife and daughter looking out to the lake on a foggy day.

Nice shot.

"I can't predict the future nor have a massive influence upon it but, I know I can work at making it better than it is currently and I know that investing in the success of others who want to improve is a good way to make things move."
Beautifully written, and very true. That's why I spent my working life in education. Helping young people to get on with their lives and giving them the tools to achieve their goals. So rewarding!

I don't really like the word shill/shilling. Alright, it's quite often true if we think about the amount of bitconnect reflinks we've seen in the past few months or all the twitter/YT personalities who get hundreds of thousands of $ to talk good about some random project but people seem to heavily overuse it in the cryptospace.

Shilling for steemit would be something like "You can mindlessly power up with all your cryptomoney(or fiat money) cause nothing can go wrong." While obviously anything can go wrong, and you don't do that.

a very nice photo.a photo with very deep meanings thanks for post @tarazkp

wonderful writing. great photography ♥ following you ♥

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63103.76
ETH 2556.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82