Build a bridge

in #philosophy6 years ago

I am a freelancer, a soldier of fortune. A small business operator. If I don't work, I don't get paid. If I don't work to get work, I have no work to work at to get paid. Without adding another layer, let's just say that it takes a fair amount of hustle and even then, it isn't easy because even if the work is obtained, being a contractor means, perform or your services are no longer required.

This is the game, it is what it is.

The interesting thing is that I deal with large corporations and help them and their people improve their results but one thing continually keeps arising and that is, people think that their job is their job. What they don't realize is that it is not, they are contractors too albeit, on more stable terms. This often translates into any changes being met with resistance as people identify with what they do as part of them and changing what they do becomes a forceful act of some kind.

A freelancer doesn't have the luxury to throw up resistance to change as the company is under no obligation to keep them. What this often means is that even though an outsourced worker might be more expensive, they are often also more likely to get the job done as to not do it is to draw a line across the back of the neck and put their head on the chopping block. Essentially, a freelancer is free to pick and choose the work but, the hiring parties are free to not hire or discontinue contracts.

But, employees aren't in this position. For example, one of the companies I work for is introducing new resource software and there is a lot of resistance to the change, even though most people haven't come close to seeing, let alone using it yet. They just don't like change and their are voicing their opinions. There is nothing wrong with the voicing of opinions but, this change is obligatory. The decision has already been made yet, the grumbling continues and resistance continues. Something that wouldn't happen if they were freelancers.

At this point of the article, I could fork it off in several ways that will go into some things along business lines but instead of that, lets relate it to an individual who has experienced something negative.

In Finnish there is a saying I like which translated is:

Do, or cry and do.

What this means is either way, you are going to have to do it. This is how I think people should be when dealing with a lot of the negative issues they face. What kind of annoys me is that people put off doing what needs to be done because they do not feel like doing it. Sure, a little delay here or there is not necessarily a bad thing but, making a habit of only doing when feeling good is going to lead to doing very little which will inevitably lead to more negative feelings. I know, I lived that way for several years.

The other thing that kind of annoys me is when something that happened in the past is gripped onto so tightly that there is no real movement made without it being driven by that past event. People become obsessive compulsive over a whole range of things and hold on, even when they no longer need to.

Dealing with these things is of course the way to go rather than avoidance but, dealing with them doesn't mean to obsess endlessly about them without action, it means to change, adjust, adapt, evolve and obtain whatever skills, resources and thinking processes necessary to move on.

Build a bridge and get over it.

This is a platitude of sorts and is generally said in a condescending way by those who are tired of the whining from someone who just won't move on, but there is truth in the phrase also. The building of the bridge is undertaking an active path to overcoming. It is an empowering process, not one that attempts to just forget what has happened or the setbacks faced.

This seems pretty unrelated to the start but in my opinion, we are all freelancers and soldiers and what we have to deal with is the obstacles that get in our way of having a better life. The largest obstacle we have is ourselves by far.

Lots of people might have a problem with my views on this and think it means that I see the process as 'easy' or minimizing people's experience but, that is not what I am saying or doing at all. What I am saying though is that sitting around complaining, upset, depressed, sick, tired or in a bad mood for too long doesn't help the situation get better. People think that they cannot act or work under such conditions but, that is rarely actually the case. One can feel terrible and still get a lot done.

The human mind (and body for that matter) is remarkably resilient and insanely capable of taking discomfort and healing from injury. We limit our thinking in so many ways and set ourselves up for defeat before we have even really given something a decent try.

If one looks back in history to find stories of people who have not only overcome intense trauma but thrived, we can see testaments to what the mind is capable of. The interesting thing for the most part is that if they can do it, anyone can but, to truly understand this means to be willing to fully experience it.

None of us have easy lives in every way and even though what we face will differ by degrees, all of us are going to be challenged, oppressed, knocked down, kicked and left bloody more than once in this life at least. Learning to face up to these things doesn't just mean more discomfort, it means a chance at a good life thereafter and the tools to face the next setback.

We are strong. Don't act otherwise.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

"There is no sense in complaining . It doesn't solve anything "
The only thing it does is turn a lousy job into a shit job .

I have done many , many things I did not want to do . If I would have not done them someone would have had to do it and most likely after the situation would have gotten worse over time requiring more effort to complete then if it was done prior .

But then again why do it today when you can put it off until tomorrow

Where would we be if the people before us had that mentality .

The largest obstacle we have is ourselves by far.

I like Eeyore because he has such a crappy attitude that makes me laugh LOL

I like Eeyore because he has such a crappy attitude that makes me laugh LOL

My daughter likes Eeyore too :D

I think that if a job is worth doing, it doesn't matter how shitty it is, it must get done.

Resistance is futile. It's stupid as well if you are on a contract. Sometimes you just have to suck it up and do it. No one likes change as it takes you out of your comfort levels. Change won't kill you but may add some more strings to your bow. If you look at the negative and make it a positive then there is no problem. It sometimes works for me but not always.

I think that if it doesn't cross my moral borders, it is appropriate considering the salary, where is the problem? I am not saying there is no room for argument, there is plenty but, here is still a point where you have to suck it up or, quit.

I know what contract workers go through. my brother is a lawyer for a bank in London. He was dealing with other banks in europe who had teams of 5 members. he was on his own as they saw his position as a cost and not generating income. I laughed when they went ultra modern and took his chair away and gave them modern desks. They felt if you stood you do more work. I thought it was a bit crazy but think he has resigned now.

I have some friends that use standing desks and love them. One was saying she took her seat away as it was just getting in the way.

Life isn't easy, not by a long shot; unless you're born rich. We constantly have to slug it out to build a better one for ourselves and our kids

Even born rich comes with all the other pressures, just not the financial scarcity (a big one to be sure).

Live daringly, boldly, fearlessly. Taste the relish to be found in competition – in having put forth the best within you, Nothing can substitute for just plain hard work. I had to put in the time to get back. And it was a grind. It meant training and sweating every day. But I was completely committed to working out to prove to myself that I still could do it.

Although change management decisions are normally made at the C-level, it’s still very important to have the rest of the employees bought in to the change. Having employees who are opposed to what is going to be changing from the start is a major setback and one that needs to be dealt with carefully in order to be successful with the change management

This is true depending on the industry and is going to get decreasingly true with the increase in short-term contracts and job scarcity. Unfortunately, it is going to get into a position where people will either work or be replaced in many positions. It isn't a good management strategy, or is it a good strategy for the employee to take.

By the way, when you self-vote your comments it really makes me not want to vote on them. Id prefer you support someone else's comment here or elsewhere.

You are a freelancer so I have to learn a lot from you.
can you teach me @tarazkp?

Lesson one, watch all Star Wars movies and study Han Solo.

OK sir i will try my best to study Han Solo...

There is a strange concept in our area that every successful person must have a government job. Even If someone is having a great business, he is considered a successful person. I definitely agree with you that there are many things that can become hinder in your way but you have to deal with them and this is the way forward.

Good post and true words, well stated.

Hi, I'm an old and reputable member of Steemit, but now I need an urgent financial help from you, my friends and whole Steemit community. I don't have enough money to get home, I need about $80 to make it. Please send me Steem/sbd to this account or LTC to my address:
LguYTiSwVMHdEDmMvBFvSKkYY7E4gebbCs

Plase, don't flag me. I wouldn't ask you if I wasn't in such a hard situation right now.

I'll be able to return all Steem/sbd you send me within one month. Thank you for your help!

It is natural for man to guide his heart against anything that contradict his beliefs...

Living a freelance life will surely help us to adapt to a lot of things, you can easily change with the change as a freelancer... Smile.

Do, or cry and do.

Wow! What a word, not doing it is the only sin, no one care about how as long as you are able to do it...

Thanks always...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62014.91
ETH 2410.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50