How philosophy helped me discover myself

in #philosophy7 years ago

Hello Steemians.

My name's Valentin, and I'm a 19 years old French student.
It has been two years since I've first started philosophy in high school.
At first, it was not really interesting, you know, being a teenager I was more interested in video games.

I've always been very introverted and kind of shy. I was doing good at school, but philosophy was holding me back, I felt like I wasn't made for it. Or that it was not made for me. Whatever.
Then, there was this day, when we had to write an essay about "Can I know myself ?"
I've never enjoyed thinking deeply about a question like this so much. It was like a revelation.
It was my first good mark in philosophy, I had 18/20.

Since this day, I started thinking more and more about aspects of life and it has definitely shaped my person today.
I discovered Spinoza, Descartes, Popper, Freud, Schopenhauer, Heidegger, and so on and from now on I'm fond of philosophy and my favorite subject is determinism and how our actions can impact the life of someone we don't even know.

I have so many things to say about philosophy and how it helped me, and if you share the same passion as I do for philosophy, don't hesitate to upvote or resteem (: !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71297.37
ETH 3698.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75