Chasing Dinosaur Footsteps; Discovering Truth and Liberty Within

in #philosophy7 years ago (edited)

shutterstock_305944337

As a young child I remember being absorbed in television, especially the brainier stuff like on the History channel. I watched shows with dinosaurs. I was exceptionally curious. I pestered my grandfather about that subject. I sat on his knee and begged him to take me to see a dinosaur, to visit them in their natural habitat. His answers where always humorous and humble, and he would cater to my puerile and exuberant curiosity.

He told me, "The only thing we will find out there are their footsteps." I did not care, though. I was thirsty for knowledge and hungry for truth. I wanted to find and follow those footsteps. I wanted to embrace the dinosaur, be embraced by it...or eaten alive.

This remains my truth today, because it is not just discovery of truth that matters. It is the endless, sometimes painful, sometimes sorrowful, always harrowing search that matters.

t rex

Secret of the Martyr; Discovering Your Unique Dinosaur


Martyrs, visionaries, and Revolutionaries like Socrates, Jesus, Buddha, and more recently, Ross Ulbricht, taught us the sanctity of the search for truth, especially the importance of finding it within us. Yet somehow we forget all that came before. We subject ourselves to the truths of others, like a sheep before the shepherd.

I believe if we followed our own unique dinosaur, we would come to find the only thing we know as truth, as salvation, as love, as beauty, as all those things we hold in such high regard. It is the path all kinds of iconoclastic people took before us...and instead understanding their direction and plight—instead of following our unique path—we follow them. We defer to them. We want to be with them.

It is a splendid irony, indeed.

The "truth" behind anarchism and liberty is not about following a specific leader. It is about following yourself; your thoughts; your trials; your tribulations; your ups and downs; highs and lows. It is about knowing and accepting the radiance and the sublime that is within you.

Perhaps it is time to open up to that notion. Perhaps it's time to follow your own footsteps. Time to find your dinosaur: your own beatific vision of liberty. It is in this way we continue to create wonderful and magnificent and intellectually diverse communities.


Sterlin Luxan is a pursuer of freedom, cryptocurrency junkie, connoisseur of psychology, an MDMA high priest, and the Mr. Rogers of Anarchism. He writes for bitcoin.com, runs a consultancy business in the crypto space, and is a public figure. He created the doctrine of relational anarchism and contributes to many causes in the thriving liberty ecosystem.

sterlin good

Sort:  

I try to live my life the exact same way you described. Never got really into dinosaurs :P. I loved the metaphor and the post. Great work man.

This comment has received a 0.08 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @theokritos.

Beautiful thoughts! The path to knowing and accepting the radiance within us is not easy but not impossible either. If we can overcome the hurdles of material attachments that block the path to finding your inner-self, life will be so much more beautiful!

@sterlinluxan so when somebody calls me a dinosaur, I can say "Exactly!" and tell them to read this post.

Nice

me 2 I love dinausors but if they were alive ,humans will be dead

Very interesting post actually I'm also very interesting to heard dinosaurs evolution so keep it up....

Great post

Such a great article! I like the thought of finding the truth within our-self. Thanks for sharing would like to read more from you.

One of my professors at college and her husband were paleontologists and sold their house to fund their dig. And from that, some of their findings were hugely significant.

It's a beautiful metaphor for self growth, digging down, finding those concealed things that are so fundamental to our survival, and with surgical precision, excavating them to preserve forever.

Well, the name T-rex and the secret desire of some if not most anarchists for a benevolent monarchy is quite the good symbol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99