You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reclaiming Your Self Esteem From Mainstream Society

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)

I recognize no one's authority over me except myself and God. Everything else is a false construct.

My mom was great about supporting my brother and me when we were in school by taking our side against teachers (and sometimes administration) whenever we thought something was stupid and refused to do it or follow the rule. She always took our side, and made it clear to the school we would be doing things our way. I appreciate that so much. It helped us both develop self-confidence. It also made me practically un-employable, because I only follow rules if I want to, not because someone says I have to in order to keep a job....but, hey, that's what self-employment is for, and what I eventually came to do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59026.89
ETH 2655.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50