You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If reality were only a simulation how would WE the simulants be able to know for sure?

in #philosophy8 years ago

Excellent post! This is a topic I have been looking into recently and you have given me some new insights. On the topic of things to look for that suggest we may be in a simulation, one particularly interesting one for me is the effect of large amounts of gravity and very high speeds on time. This of course is the time dilation described by general relativity. Time slows down more and more as we get near to greater masses and as we move at greater speeds. From a computer simulation point of view this makes sense. The more mass and speed we add the more we would be challenging the computational ability of our simulated reality. It could be then that the effect of gravity and speed on time is simply a lag effect in our reality.

Sort:  

I think people like you and I might be posting about this for awhile. I actually had more thoughts on this after I posted, but I did my four posts for the day. I might post about some other things tomorrow.

Time. I have some thoughts about that to share. Just to cover the concepts of like IF the machine is turned off...

Then the discussing of if we are a simulation... how do we see outside the simulation. I want to do some thought experiments and crazy brainstorming on that. :)

We can endlessly speculate/hypothesize off of this single concept.

Yet as the Deists tend to say. There was a creator (whoever started the simulation), now observe the world around you and use reason.

It ultimately may not be important that we are a simulation. Yet it sure is fun to think and talk about. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61043.90
ETH 3378.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46