You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Hidden Wholeness

in #philosophy7 years ago

this was a wonderful post.

I hope we can learn from people like your friend, and achieve this awareness without facing that dreaded c-word (and I don't mean the four lettered one, of course)
Not so dreaded that one.
But after that small chuckle to relieve tensions (I hope that's been the rough effect, and you are not steaming and reaching for the flag.)

That was a beautiful piece of poetry. I just went and read the first two chapters (? stanzas? ¿?)
Funny how even with tears streaming down my face I get down the page a few pgdwns and my roving internet mind kicks in and says, what about those three hundred other tabs you have open. What about that comment you were writing to show appreciation.
Not the sort sort of attention span that Thomas Merton needs, not how he lived (exact opposite)
I have heard his name mentioned many times, but I hadn't gotten around to actually knowing much of anything about his work.
I certainly will now.

Thanks for that. Do you know of Robinson Jeffers? So different, and yet the firrst that came to mind when I read those lines above.

Maybe you have inspired me to do a post about him, as I assume not too many know of him.

He produced a book of anti-war poetry just as the United States entered WWII and was shunned. His publisher even saw fit to include a note distancing themselves from the heresy of pacifism.

Following you my good fellow. Thanks for the vote on my post. I think that's how I got here. If it wasn't, what are you waiting for?

:)

big hugs

Sort:  

Thanks for the recommendation of Robinson Jeffers. I had never heard of him before, and I live in California, too. I'm always on the lookout for thoughtful writers, especially when they are compared to Thomas Merton! I spent some time reading Jeffers' Wikipedia article - what an interesting man! Yes, please do write a bio post on him. Especially recommend the writings of his you feel are a best place to start. Thanks for the post here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98