You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Realigning Your Life: Reassessing Personal Morality + Social Expectations

in #philosophy7 years ago

I resonate with this so much. Nothing was 'wrong' with my city life. I had a great life in a comfortable apartment, surrounded by amazing people working for the design industry that I'd always loved. Yet, I felt hollow inside as I didn't have any passion for what I did, contributing through destructive ways. Just like owning fancy shoes doesn't mean you can run any faster, surrounding yourself with material fluff is useless if you aren't spiritually happy. I loved reading your introspection and the depth and honesty of it. I hope you align yourself with your higher self and find your Ikigai which is a Japanese concept that means a reason for being. I relate because that is exactly what I'm trying to do in my own way. Here's wishing you all the best on your journey and the dawn of what will hopefully be an enlightenment era.

Sort:  

I appreciate the depth of your presence @soulturtle!

I think that this feeling of ennui happens to many of us human creatures, it is definitely interesting to explore. On a side note, I love learning what I consider to be fateful words in other languages-- linguistics nerd!

Aww, thank you. Fateful words sounds intriguing. Perhaps you could share a post on some of those and what they mean. I'm not the best at languages. I've heard language plays a big part in the way you think. Like for example English focuses on action, like you'd say she is sitting on the chair. In a language like German they say it like the chair is being sat on by her. That subtle difference in priority affects perception. Perhaps Germans are known for work and craftsmanship because of this? I imagine you'd have a lot of thoughts on this subject. It'd be a great post if you ever get to it.

I think i could get real wild deep if i got on some linguistic tangental posts! It would be really fun. I appreciate languages that put high value or respect to nature and animals, maybe i could do a post if i make some sketches of ideas!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53801.93
ETH 2252.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26