You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Oracles, shipwrecks and lentil soup - Understanding Stoicism: Historical context pt.2

in #philosophy7 years ago

In a sense all births are fated. Man never chooses to be birthed in a particular circumstance (as far as I know), but must live under the fated situation to his best ability.

Sort:  

Good point. The follow-up question then becomes: too which degree can man transcend this fated beginning and take over his own destiny?

I recall a description of Agamemnon "putting his neck into the yoke of fate" or something to that regard. Like the Hellenes, I don't believe that one can escape or transcend the designs of moira. I think the best man can do is to cooperate with the lot the universe, fate, God has designed. If man can rewrite the strands of fate, then is not man at that point a god?

The myths of the past seem consistent with the theme of man reaching for godhood in his hubris, only to be drawn back into the web of fate. The "Fall" in the Western monotheism, Gigamesh's journey beyond the limits of this spacetime, tragedy of Oedipus, Arjuna's despair in Baghavagita all speak of the hubris and futility in reaching for godhood.

I'm a bit torn on the concept of fate myself. I should reflect on it some more.

So thanks for mentioning those myths. I believe that ancient stories like those definitely communicate deeper truths that are often times overlooked. Will have to study them closer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57393.77
ETH 2439.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33