You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Were you the winner in that argument?

in #philosophy8 years ago

It would be lovely if people would recognise an argument or debate as an opportunity to learn, but too many become very emotional and it prevents them from absorbing any information-- even if that information may be helpful.

Whether factual or erroneous, most tend to defend their own perspective while dismissing the other's passionately.

I think that we need to overcome this communication barrier soon, as things seem to be getting worse as time goes on.

Sort:  

I think that we need to overcome this communication barrier soon, as things seem to be getting worse as time goes on.

This has been a motivation for most of my posts the past few days.

Yes, I have been trying to do my part as well. With the social media algorithm article that trended, and the flat earth one that I feel was a terrible disaster. Lol.

I still intend to respond to your comments on there by the way. But, I have a couple of fiction pieces that I'm working on against a deadline, so I will respond once those are finished and I have some extra time on my hands.

No worry on the flat earth. We could go forever there. :) I don't think it failed, you illicited conversation. Success need not be measured by the amount of people that agree with you. It seems the conversation was civil and a lot of thought into it so I wouldn't consider it a failure of any kind.

I would consider civil conversation to have been a success. I don't need people to agree with me, but to understand each other's perspectives would be ideal.

I felt that the majority of messages on that post were incredibly hostile. I even had one that was repeatedly calling me a coward for being religious, which shows they didn't even read the post because I am not religious at all.

I feel there was a lot of ignorance in the comments, when the goal of the post was to share my perspective of where flat Earthers are coming from, and why they believe what they believe. I hoped it would help anyone who read it to be more tolerant of differing belief structures, but it seemed evident to me from the comments that it was far from successful.

I felt that the majority of messages on that post were incredibly hostile. I even had one that was repeatedly calling me a coward for being religious, which shows they didn't even read the post because I am not religious at all.

I didn't see that one, but I did not go back and read all of them. At the time I responded initially it seemed like the posts were not that hostile.

Also, honestly if I had written the same thing as you I would have expected some of that. The people that were calling you religious were actually being a bit hypocritical, as the stance of KILL THE BLASPHEMER is a distinctly religious approach to attacking people. That is essentially what you were encountering.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57560.27
ETH 2570.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48