Life is totally meaningless. We live. We die. So what's the point?

in #philosophy7 years ago

What is the point in living if everything we leave behind will be forgotten in the future - everything we do and we are will not be there anymore.

Life is meaningless. In the grand scheme of all that is, you mean nothing. You will die and be forgotten. In a universe so old and large, infinite, our blips of life virtually don't exist. Even if you achieve the highest level of infamy in this life, who you are and what you do will always be irrelevant. Is there even a point in living anymore? This is what today's text is about so read on!

"Nobody exists on purpose, nobody belongs anywhere, everybody's gonna die."

If there is no beginning and no end and everything will be regardless of you, then what's left? Nothing. And yet, everything. You have no limits, no rules, no expectations, no formulas, no boundaries. You need no validation or permission. You are free.

Life is a gift and we shouldn't take it as granted.

1. Create your own meaning in life


We are given the ability to create our own meaning. You were not put on this earth as some vessel meant to relay stories and metaphors- you were born with a "clean slate" in a sense. You can make your life have to mean however you wish. And it makes it feel all the better. That homeless person you fed and let shower at your house? The smiles of all those people at the soup kitchen you volunteered at? It was your choice. You didn't do it because of some reward, you didn't do it because some book told you to. You did it because you wanted to and because you chose to live like that. It makes everything you do feel sincere and wholesome. That, my friend, is why I think it is beautiful to give your own life purpose.

2. live your own life


Make your life matter. Don't waste your time on "and then what." Start with compassion for others. Pursue that. Pursue connections with others. Make a difference, love others, create a legacy that lives in the feelings you engender in others. You have more power than ever because of the way our world is interconnected.

3. Play One of Society’s Many Games


Life is a game, and nothing more or less. But the game comes with many sub-games. There is the bankers game, stay at home mom game, the astronaut games, and much more - choose whichever you want and stick with it.
If you invest in this kind of games, it will give your life a meaning - your passion.
The more you invest, the more the victories will mean to you.

This is one of the hardest decisions you can make in your life because it will be the way you go for most of your life. You'll need to think deeply and for a long time about it. Search deep inside yourself and ask your heart what you really want to do with your life.

4. Life is about Experience


My happiness lies in the experiences I can have during this life I have before I die. I love, I laugh, I learn; I breathe, and feel the wind in my hair. I eat and drink. I ride horses and pet cats. I do things for my children -- or for a stranger -- and see their faces light up in happiness. I read a fascinating story, and feel myself experiencing things which I'll never get to do in the flesh.

5. Don't fear death


Don't fear death, fear the un-lived life.

When your time comes to die, be not like those whose hearts are filled with fear of death, so that when their time comes they weep and pray for a little more time to live their lives over again in a different way. Sing your death song, and die like a hero going home.

I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain.

Death is not the biggest fear we have; our biggest fear is taking the risk to be alive - the risk to be alive and express what we really are.


Now let me reverse the question for you. If we never die, what would be the purpose of living?
So does it even need to have a meaning at all? Just enjoy the pleasures of life.

Sort:  

If the new atheists are correct, then everyday we live we're just cultivating worm food. We have nothing but suffering and death to look forward to. Having children is an act of cruelty and suicide is a perfectly reasonable solution to life's problems. Acquisition of material wealth, and the pursuit of pleasure are our sole motivating factors, and selfless acts are foolish.

On the other hand, I don't think it's unreasonable to believe in a created universe. I think it's much more likely that an entity beyond our comprehension created all that exists, and put us where we are because it's precisely where we belong. I think that is much more logical than the idea that the universe simply began to exist from nothing, with no driving force outside of itself, and for no purpose.

Sartre in his first books was searching for the objective or sense of life and he got "The Nausea" of finding none.
But this was until he was arrested by the Nazis and found out that when marching in prison he if went to the left instead of going to the right as ordered, was the meaning in life ......to fight for freedom.
The psychological key to freedom, adaptation, and a human relation between peers, is learning the construction of consensus in a decentralized ecosystem, based on the needs of all the members of a community, as a standpoint for " New Universal Order " courtesy of Source-Code and the Blockchain.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66937.04
ETH 3270.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74