You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I can't control my children, but I can control myself

in #philosophy6 years ago

Excellent post, mama. Good on you for doing all you can to be a better mama. It really does take kids a while to learn to control big emotions, but they do learn. And they learn faster from kindness. I have also struggled with yelling. Deep breaths are definitely my go to as well. In fact, I have taught my young ones this technique too. Now, often, if they are really flipping out, they will ask to do deep breaths. Such a good, life-long practice.

Sort:  

Oh this reminds me I should teach them to do the same too. My oldest tried once, went into the room to supposedly breathe to calm down but ended up breathe harder and harder eventually wailing. alright...alright he just needed a hug. lol.

such a life-long practice.

Aww. Bless his heart. They love it as much for the connection as for the breathing. I always hold their hands and look into their eyes and breathe with them. They resist it sometimes, but usually they want to do it.

Okay I want to learn to hold their hands and breathe with them. That is if i am not the one who pissed him off mainly because I ask him to sleep. I have this thing in me, I can't stand if he has not enough sleep. what a mama!

My youngest is a serious night owl. She stays up late, but we don't have a set schedule, so I can almost always let her sleep, so it works out in the end. They're definitely difficult when they're tired. My other trick is to find something that puts them to sleep. Bath or books or whatever. Hope you find something that helps, but he'll eventually grow out of it one way or another, right? I hope he takes to deep breathing with you. It's such a lovely practice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60699.39
ETH 2655.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59