You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Understanding Silent Risks and Uncertainty (A Non-Technical Essay For Speculators)

in #philosophy8 years ago

I was actually strongly in favor of the economic changes for the most part (certainly the reduction, in some form, of the power down time), but I don't agree with this:

clearly something was wrong with the initial economic model as the price kept plummeting

Prices fluctuate for all sorts of reasons. If you look at the price chart of STEEM it bears a lot of resemblence to dozens of other cryptos which had a large early pump when supply was small followed by a large and long decline, followed by ________. The point being that we don't know what would have followed. A few months (even a year) of a crypto token declining in value is just not something from which you can draw a sound conclusion.

We've now changed the economy, and we still have price declines. Of course, now the price declines can be blamed on the faster power down time and more dumping, but this too is jumping to a hasty conclusion. The factors that affect a market are boundless and far more difficult than that to characterize.

Sort:  

Oh thanks, it's better if I clarify (edit) one entire chunk of texts there. Maybe it was poorly worded -

I was actually disappointed when it was announced two months ago that Steem was going to change its power down period from 24 months to 3 months. The initial inflation and power down model was quite attractive to me as a long-term investor. If you review my activities, you will see that it's reflective of that.

Anyway, clearly something was wrong with the initial economic model as the price kept plummeting. The conditions keeping up with the community's expectations. So to top my disappointment, the proposal to reduce the liquidation period will most likely cause a further (of what I thought back then, unnecessary) price dump. Whales that don't want in anymore and those that are not in to hold would cash out.

Personally, I don't mind a low price. I powered up with the expectation of testing it for 2 full years.

However, I have accepted the change about a week or two after the hardfork proposal was announced. The community decision seemed unanimous that the change will be the better course of action. Accepting the hardfork was all thanks to some degree of comfort from Nassim Nicholas Taleb's (NNT) works.

Agree there's really no right and wrong economic model. It just depends on community expectations.. and there are too many variables. Anyway, I convinced myself that short power down window will be for the best after consulting NNT's materials lol which is why I wrote this..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51