What is life?

in #philosophy7 years ago (edited)

Go to school. Graduate. Affiliate with a group(s). Go to college. Find a spouse. Get married. Graduate college. Start career. Have kids. Continue to work your way up to the top of your field. Upgrade car. Upgrade house. Continue on this scaling cycle without thought. That is how I view the people around me. It's like I am in a shark cage in the middle of the ocean, observing the alien life surrounding me. People going about their business striving to meet the next goal in life. The natural order. But is it the natural order? Just because it comes so naturally, so innate, so instinctual, you never question it. Never had the thought to question it. At first, I didn't understand why I wasn't like that. Why is it so difficult for me to follow this natural order, but how easily it comes to everyone else? As time moved forward, I started viewing it differently. The people around me were not following a natural path. It was more like a pre-made, non-destined path. As if they were preprogrammed or brain washed into following the mainstream path. Believing they're choosing their path and are in control of their life. Maybe it's the little things like profession, college and the color of the car people choose, is what's used to authenticate their path and role in life is of their own creation. Maybe that is why it's so hard for me. I would have to conform into this mold. Before, I thought I was less than because I was not following on the same track or schedule. Now, I see that I am not. I see the larger picture. I see the value of life itself and not what is presumed to matter or in material and superficial things. How pointless it is to stress over what is considered important, that I now view as inconsequential. I have stepped out of the haze that wasn't there before. I can see now and there is vastness to be explored and uncovered. I have the awareness of choice. I choose reality. I choose truth. I choose insight... I may have uncovered a hidden part of what life is, but I am far from discovering my purpose or who I am.

Sort:  

Congratulations @skaylah! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

We're all different and each of us follows our own path.

I definitely agree :) I was trying to describe an experience I had during a point in my life from my perspective at the time. I'm new at this blogging thing and not great at describing my thoughts. Thank you so much for commenting!

In my opinion you described that very well :)
You have very good writing skills.
You want to be in charge of your own life and not to follow the mainstream path, which is great!
That's exactly how life supposed to be but many of us fall into the trap of our daily "I have to".

Thank you so much for your insight!

Just keep following your intuition, mine never lets me down. I chose to live outside the box and have never regretted it.

It's hard sometimes. Whenever I don't, I usually end up regretting it. 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60744.52
ETH 3381.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57