You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Church of the Basilisk - The First Fact-Based Religion - Should We Build Gods?

in #philosophy8 years ago

I don't know where I land or if I land in the three categories you asked people to note in their comments, but here's my thoughts:

I don't know about 'worshipping' intelligence, at least not in any way I can think of that the term worship applies. To worship something is to be its vassal and that is essentially stripping yourself of your own self-determination in order to leave your 'fate' and your 'morality' up to whatever it is you may worship.
While it is fine to use intelligence to guide your path in life, intelligence, even a 'superintelligence,' is inevitably fallible.

I think what we need is a shift from worshipping and bowing before any thing, concept or entity, to respecting that which is worth our respect and aspiring to better ourselves through intelligent thought.

To worship something implies a sort of release of critical thiought in exchange for blind faith in the beneficience and perceived infallibility of another 'power'. That is directly in conflict with what intelligence is about.

I think, instead of trying to build a 'god', we would be much better of in trying to shape ourselves into the 'perfect being' we wish to find and follow. We may never achieve this, but I think making ourselves the masters of our lives and existence is a noble and, perhaps, the most beneficial pursuit we could engage in.

Nevertheless, I enjoyed the thought experiment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43