The Story of ‘Gutei's Finger’

in #philosophy6 years ago


Image Source

I have been fortunate enough to experience and study the various world religion first hand through the places I have lived across the globe and then pursued them afterwards through my own interest in the subject matter.

Buddhism in its various forms seem to have come naturally to me, and I especially enjoy contemplating the Koans’s of Zen Buddhism a great deal!

One particular Koan stuck with me for a few years called ‘Gutei's Finger’. Compared to the other Koan’s which I could understand after a few days of meditation, this one took me a number of years.
I remember coming to the ‘aha’ moment when falling asleep at the point when I was giving up on this story. Kind of funny how that happens huh?

Anyway, here is the Koan and please do leave your thoughts and comments about what it could mean in the comments section below:

‘Gutei's Finger’

Gutei raised his finger whenever he was asked a question about Zen.
A boy attendant began to imitate him in this way.
When a visitor asked the boy what his master had preached about, the boy raised his finger.
Gutei heard about the boy’s mischief, seized him and cut off his finger with a knife.
As the boy screamed and ran out of the room, Gutei called to him.
When the boy turned his head to Gutei, Gutei raised up his own finger.
In that instant the boy was enlightened.

When Gutei was about to die, he said to the assembled monks, “I received this one-finger Zen from Tenryu. I used it all my life and yet could not exhaust it”, and then he passed away.
Source

Peace,
Shenobie

Sort:  

Here's my takeaway.

When the boy's finger was cut off, he realised he was merely imitating the truth. Gutei who knew of only one truth, one source, symbolised it with the one finger. The boy realised the meaning of the ONE. There can never be two.

We split our understanding, our self image, our many cultural beliefs and what not....we are lost in the various idea of who we are. Arriving at each other's doorstep with preconceived notions. So in Gutei reflecting the truth of the One, regardless of where one's mental construct is, it will work.

Despite the colour and flavour of our delusion, the truth is ways one. Oii

This is a really good one. Will have to get back to you on this.

Wow, looks like you've been busy. Sorry I've missed your pieces on my feed somehow, am just going through them....the ones I can follow at least ;)

Cheers

@kchitrah,

Totally understand- it is like building our own mini universe on Steemit and it can get crazy keeping up.

Regards,
Avinash

Indeed. And I just realised we're having a full on chat here on the blockchain. Feel free to DM me over on discord @kchitrah#6087

Can you give us a hint? :-)

@zeus2010

Nope.... give it a bit more time! Zen will be your ally (mystical sounds.......)

@Shenobie 😁

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by shenobie from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25