Knowledge Bombs #2 - Ayn RandsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #philosophy7 years ago (edited)

Knowledge Bombs 2.png

Ayn Rand was a Russian-American author. She is most known for her two novels The Fountainhead and Atlas Shrugged. Beyond writing, Ayn Rand is well-known as a philosopher and is credited with developing a philosophical system that she referred to as Objectivism.

Here is the knowledge bomb from Ayn Rand.

A creative man is motivated by the desire to achieve, not by the desire to beat others.

This quote hits me strongly, as I have been someone that has felt jealousy and envy toward the success of others. Instead of learning from them and looking at improving myself and overcoming my own shortcomings, I would be petty and jealous of their success.

Lately, I have been trying to concentrate more on creating than on worrying what others are doing. The best way for me to reach the heights of success is not by trying to beat what others are doing, but by trying to do what I do to the best of my abilities.

As Ayn Rand insinuated in her quote, the desire should not be about beating others. It should be about wanting to create and achieve things for ourselves. I will try to live my life that way.


rsz_20431303_10159189122600201_5198366008408502736_n.jpg

My name is Scott. Please follow me for more Knowledge Bombs as well as poetry and other thoughts.

Sort:  

That is a great quote of hers. I find it also fascinating that Rand was a big influence of Steve Ditko, the co-creator of one of the most famous superheroes of all time: Spiderman!

I like this series you have going here. Keep it up!

This post has received a 0.14 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sgtechservices from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.35
ETH 3436.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55