Senseless ramblings of a nostalgic, sleep deprived philosopher wannabe.

in #philosophy7 years ago

With both hesitation and excitement, I offer this to the community at large as my first post. Enjoy or not, it will not significantly matter now or ever.

And so it goes....

When I was about eight years old a neighbor presented me with something to think about. It was simply, think about getting into a spaceship that travels into space and keeps going forever.

I'm guessing that neighbor was probably in his 60's or maybe even 70's when he told me that. Damn, at 8 years old anyone over 20 is really old.

I've thought about that idea probably more in my life than that neighbor ever intended or imagined. I know it has had a profound impact on the way I think to this day.

How I wrapped that into what I have put below in I'm not quite sure. I'll leave it to you to connect the dots.

Today I encountered a man, certainly older than 20 but not older than 40. We were reading a historical marker that mentioned 15 people were hanged at the site, most likely for the crime of theft. I, in my usual manner and with intent to provoke a meaningful reaction, mentioned that the number seemed low and that there should have been more. As I had assumed and hoped, a reaction was indeed provoked. He immediately responded that my statement was incorrect - actually he did not say that I was wrong rather he said something of the sort, "well that’s not the way that it is done in a progressive and democratic society."

I had to laugh, and indeed chuckled out loud. I couldn't help myself. I couldn't resist. I was almost giddy and I felt a rush of excitement.

Why the chuckle? It was not so much at what I believe was an obvious progressive and liberal belief, but it was his manner in expressing it and how clearly it indicated that he was extremely passionate about his position and belief. It did seem that he wanted it to be known that his position was correct and my thinking was wrong.

What he did not realize, I am sure, was that my statement was made for the sole purpose of eliciting a response and not necessarily a representation of my belief or position.

As for the excitement I felt? I know what that was. I had one on the hook. As they say, he took the bait, hook line and sinker. And the excitement was I had an opportunity to learn something about a stranger and a political position of that stranger.

I don't want to lead you on, so I'll let you know now, that nothing much more came out of this encounter. There was no big discussion, no debate, no attempt in changing anyone's opinion on his or my part. The only thing notable about the encounter were our parting words. He asked something of the sort "what part of the United States are you from?" Live Free or Die is all I said as I walked away. "That explains a lot." Is all that he said. I laughed again as I walked away. Apparently he summed me up in a matter of 45 seconds and was a bit dismissive while he was at it. That says almost about all I need to know about him.

I suppose my interpretation of his response relative to his use of the word progressive was influenced by the recent US election and the way the word progressive was used, defined and tossed around in the media. I've not researched the term, its use or its modern meaning and all that it represents. My understanding is only that of its general definition and usage and not necessarily how it is applied to political theory or agenda. My point, I really don't care about politics. What I do care about , or more accurately, what I find interesting, is how the media influences the public and in turn an individuals', or group of individuals' politics.

That aside, this young man came across as well rounded on the subject of government or at least well educated or perhaps just articulate. Not having the opportunity to get in to a deeper discussion with him, its not likely I will ever know more about him. At the time however, I was so tempted to engage and pursue an understanding of his beliefs and how the foundation of his beliefs were developed. What were the influences that he was subjected to that made him seemingly so passionate? How firm were those pillars to his belief system? He put his beliefs out there quite strongly under such a minor and insignificant chance encounter. I can't help but wonder were they truly his own and had he vetted them out, or were they just regurgitation of the media and government propaganda delivered from him with passion. Is his parting shot of "that explains a lot", was that representative of him as an individual, or is that somehow representative of a progressives operandi? Is it a progressives nature to make a rash judgement based on limited information and no desire or willingness to investigate or discuss things in a deeper and more meaningful way. All I did was answer his one question, and that had nothing to do with my politics. Or did it?

Well I didn't intend to write all that when I started. What I had intended to write was something that provided some context as to what I have written in to following pages.

I'm here in Iceland. I'm in a tiny camper van, which in and of itself is comfortable enough. Outside its cold and windy. It probably has been snowing most of the night. The thin and uninsulated walls of the van don't offer much warmth, but with a heater, a quality sleeping bag and blankets its not too terrible. At least not for me. Ellen is a bit miserable. She's cold, tired and can't get comfortable enough to sleep. Even if I were sleeping, I'm sure, despite my feeling like I'm in a deep sleep, I do something to not help her condition; snoring, moving, taking too much room. All reasonably annoying things she's willing to tolerate. She's good like that.

I've woken up a few times as she's moved around, started the engine to get the heater going. As often happens, and I think this is true for lots of people, when I am awoken and then trying to fall back asleep things start running through your head. Sometimes those things help you get back to sleep, sometimes they just get in the way. They become bigger in your head than they actually are. Eventually though, if you're tired enough, they fade and your mind finds the bliss its been searching for.

I've become pretty good at that, letting them fade that is. Or maybe its just that they turn to something less thought provoking. Or maybe I settle them. Sometimes though, I just latch on to something that grabs me back. I get into a relentless hot pursuit of the thought, the process and the solution. Its fun for me to do that and that excitement defeats the purpose. There I am laying wide awake.

So what did if for me this time? Well, it was the encounter with that young man. I have unfinished business with him.

My mind runs through the encounter. I play though my mind what would have happened if I engaged with him more and how that would have turned out. I really don't have a position that I want to convince him of. If I did I'm not sure if either of us would be right. If my position did end up being opposite of his, what point would it make and why would it matter? I don't really want to change his mind, and I don't care if he wants to change mine. He may give me information that helps me understand his position and that may cause me to change my position but I will not change my mind because he wants me to or thinks I should.

I jump a head to the end of the debate, had one occurred. I suspect it would be a stalemate. We would be balanced in our opposing thoughts and positions. At least to the depth and point to where we both decide that we don't want to put in any more effort. We settle. But I don't want to leave it at that. I want him to know, and if he is, in my opinion reasonable, he will agree that we disagree and for that moment we are settled perfectly for all eternity.

I do believe that I would have brought up the following perspective regardless of how our "debate" would have gone. The fantasy debate I played out in my head, that is. The one with no specific detail, order or relevance to the topic that we had engaged on initially.

This would have been my escape and parting wisdom. Just to let him know that his position may or may not matter to me, and similarly for mine to him. It just does not matter.

I would let him know what one of my beliefs relative to government and politics. And then another belief I formulated for myself for life and universe -- again supporting my belief that our opinions and positions have limited relevance now and significantly less over time if not immediately.

First on politics. Governments by their very existence are repressive over those that are governed, regardless of progressive or not. The best defense a government has over being overthrown by the governed is to cause the governed to believe that no attempt to over throw the government could or would be effective, and that anyone that would believe that it is possible to over throw the government are not of sound mind or are anti-government with no reasonable or realistic rational.

My point here is, that younger generations have to keep that in mind. Follow and support whatever agenda you want, and allow the government as much control as you are comfortable with. If you want any government at all that’s what you have to do. Just keep in mind what you are giving up, what the impact will be, and who it matters to, if you care. Understand that not everyone has the same beliefs and positions, and no position is fully right or wrong. Any position can be more right or more wrong in any given moment based on the infinite number of variables involved and their value at any particular moment or fraction of a moment. After all, positions relative to policy are based on the peoples' opinions and positions at a given moment and people change their minds based on numerous factors around them in any given moment.

Secondly, most things, thoughts, or ideas don't matter significantly over time from a metaphysical perspective and don't pretend they do by thinking you or your opinions are substantially significant over someone else's'. Or right or wrong for that matter. How long will your position matter significantly, and to who?

After all, the solution to the universe and life itself, as we understand it, is a paradox represented by a constantly balanced equation with an infinite number of variables compounded by circular reference, with each variable changing at a constantly variable rate while simultaneously not in conflict, not equally opposite, and not equal to another and such equation having a final result of one or zero in any given moment and that result neither being correct or incorrect but perfect for the moment in which it exist, thus resulting in the equation being infinitely balanced. Thus the solution to all that exist is to exist in the moment for which it exist whether aware of unaware of its own existence. For those that are aware of their existence, the purpose of your existence is to exist in the moment of your awareness for not knowing when your existence within your period of awareness will not be known to yourself and knowing that your period of awareness may or may not be fleeting.

Harmony within the flow of the equation at all moments of time and awareness of existence will ensure perpetual harmony at all moments within the flow of moments. Knowing this, the ride in that ship will be fine.

Thank you Stanley Davis, Neighbor 1972.

Sort:  

Congratulations @senselessscott! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote
You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @senselessscott! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @senselessscott! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58986.04
ETH 2580.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53