Studying at the Feet of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.

in #philosophy7 years ago

I wasn't there for the marches- but I have heard him speak. After all, the recordings of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. immortalized the truth he had to share with us. So today, I'm reflecting on what he had to say, chewing it over, and taking it to heart. I’m also asking some questions that, perhaps, we all can think about.

King 9.jpg

“Whatever your life’s work is, do it well. A man should do his job so well that the living, the dead, and the unborn could do it no better.”

So what is my life's work? And am I giving it my all? Have I committed myself to creating something of value, that can truly serve the world, and generations to come?

King 2.jpg

“All labor that uplifts humanity has dignity and importance and should be undertaken with painstaking excellence.”

Am I taking my life's work seriously? Have I made a choice to sacrifice my own fleeting pleasures, to make a greater impact on the world? What am I doing for the world?

King 3.jpg

“I am not interested in power for power’s sake, but I am interested in power that is moral, that is right and that is good.”

Am I being a selfless leader? Is my heart in the right place, and aligned with my actions?

King 4.jpg

“Freedom is never voluntarily given by the oppressor; it must be demanded by the oppressed.”

What am I doing to fight for my rights? What is it, exactly, that I'm fighting for?

King 6.jpg

“Capitalism does not permit an even flow of economic resources. With this system, a small privileged few are rich beyond conscience, and almost all others are doomed to be poor at some level. That’s the way the system works. And since we know that the system will not change the rules, we are going to have to change the system."

Do we have to play the game to win it, and afterwards change the rules? Or is there a way to change the world, without having to build a capitalistic business? I am a founding director of the Warriors of the Rainbow Lodge, a non-profit social club starting in Boulder, Colorado. We have plans to create a resource-based economy which aims to make the current economic model obsolete. The plans on exactly how to do this are ready and waiting, but still require initial funding. Must we rely on capitalism to achieve our goals? Or is there another way?

25398728_753198828210607_2363869105040652502_n.jpg

“The hope of a secure and livable world lies with disciplined nonconformists who are dedicated to justice, peace and brotherhood.”

Do I consider myself to be very disciplined? Are justice, peace, and brotherhood at the forefront of my mind?

King 10.jpg

“Shallow understanding from people of good will is more frustrating than absolute misunderstanding from people of ill will.”

Have I put in the effort to become highly educated in my field of expertise? What do I need to fully comprehend?

King 13.jpg

“Change does not roll in on the wheels of inevitability, but comes through continuous struggle. So we must straighten our backs and work for our freedom. A man can’t ride you unless your back is bent.”

How do I personally keep people from taking advantage of me? How do we collectively oppose those who seek to manipulate us?

King 12.jpg

“He who passively accepts evil is as much involved in it as he who helps to perpetrate it. He who accepts evil without protesting against it is really cooperating with it.”

With so much evil in the world, how do I protest everything that has gone wrong? If I get involved in too many things, will I lose my effectiveness?

King 14.jpg

“Every man must decide whether he will walk in the light of creative altruism or in the darkness of destructive selfishness.”

Am I living for myself, or others? How do I cultivate a balance between the two?

King 7.jpg

“Human progress is neither automatic nor inevitable… Every step toward the goal of justice requires sacrifice, suffering, and struggle; the tireless exertions and passionate concern of dedicated individuals.”

Am I willing to be uncomfortable, in order to make the world a better place for others?

King 16.jpg

“We must accept finite disappointment, but never lose infinite hope.”

How will I remain positive, even when I face difficulties in life?

King 8.jpg

“We must develop and maintain the capacity to forgive. He who is devoid of the power to forgive is devoid of the power to love. There is some good in the worst of us and some evil in the best of us. When we discover this, we are less prone to hate our enemies.”

Am I willing to let go of my resentment towards those who have injured me, and my worldwide family, so that I may fully embody love? Do I fully realize the power of love, and forgiveness?

King 5.jpg

I wish I could have heard Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.'s answers to these questions. Still, I think it's important that we all ponder this last quote of his:

“Rarely do we find men who willingly engage in hard, solid thinking. There is an almost universal quest for easy answers and half-baked solutions. Nothing pains some people more than having to think.”

So, I’m going to spend some time contemplating these quotes and questions. I hope you see importance in doing so too. But, before I leave you to do some deep thinking, I'd like to remind you that:

“We must learn to live together as brothers or perish together as fools.”

King 15.jpg

I am so thankful to have access to these profound words to ponder. I’m also thankful for such a great Steemit community to discuss these quotes with.

I wish you all the highest good in your lives, as well as the lives of those you love.

Your friend,
@Scottiemac

Sort:  

This is a well written piece your writing is getting so much more refined now

Thanks for the great questions to ponder @scottiemac !

For all who respect MLK and his work, we must honor him by never forgetting the civil trial in Memphis which proved that US government was directly involved in his assassination.

King Family vs. Loyd Jowers

11078D67-A8EE-48D3-9B6F-FF6551461881.jpeg

After seeing how corrupt the US government is first hand at Standing Rock, this doesn't surprise me. But it does hurt. How could they do such a thing to such a beautiful soul? The more I learn about the United States' untold history, the more I lean to peaceful, intelligent, anarchy. I want to see the government dissolve, and corruption dissipate. But that means we all must step up, and better govern ourselves.

For "A man who can govern himself, does not need a government."

We must all rise together, and make this faulty system obsolete.

Big ups to Satsang, for creating a song that embodies the heart of Dr. King.

“Our life begins to end the day that we become silent about things that matter” -MLK

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64256.72
ETH 2794.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65