On Descartes' Meditations

in #philosophy6 years ago

alone-beach-calm-396947.jpg
Let me start out saying that I like Descartes and his Meditations. I remember my first philosophy class ever in high school when we learned the meaning of the phrase "I think therefore I am". It was an 'aha' moment for me. What do we really know for certain?

Descartes' Meditations explore the idea in a great deal more depth. Paragraph after paragraph he breaks down some of our assumptions. And it's kind of gratifying, right? We don't really know anything. It feeds my nihilistic tendencies, which just feels simultaneously good and bad.

board-game-business-challenge-277052.jpg

Which brings me to my point. What is the benefit of his Meditations? Sure, he works on reconstructing faith in the world around us, but I don't think that reconstruction is nearly as powerful as the deconstruction at the beginning. I'm left thinking that he's right to doubt everything, and furthermore, he argues that if our mind was a result of random chance and not a perfect diety, then our mind is likely flawed. Actually, that's a possibility too, isn't it? Maybe "I think therefore I am" makes perfect logical sense to us but actually holds no true meaning in an absolute sense.

So I love the exercise, but it brings me to my bigger critique: what then is the benefit of wallowing in doubt? If I believe I exist and the things I sense actually exist, maybe that's good enough. In fact, living life and taking existence for granted seems to work out better than having your head in the clouds all the time.

Maybe it should actually be "I think, and that's good enough."

Sort:  

Hi, scap! Wish you a very fulfilling experience here in this culturally diversified yet mostly unified community :) Best Regards

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

The biggest reflection I had when I started meditating was the sense of peacefulness all around me. I could think more clearly and find solutions to problems that might have been harder to get too. I find that doing it in the morning when I wake up is a great way to start the day on a clean slate (just make sure to have your day planned out a little haha!). @chongor

Hello! I'm as new as you, let's develop together. We can achieve a lot if we act together. I followed you, and you follow me. ;)

Welcome to steemit @scap. Join @minnowsupport project for more help. Checkout @helpie and @qurator projects.
Send SBD/STEEM to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Send SBD/STEEM to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project, follow for random votes.

A warm welcome to Steemit, @scap. This is a great community and I know you will have a great time here.
I want to invite you to join the discord channel #steemschools on discord at https://discord.gg/TaZFW5r and we will teach and support you to grow in the Steemit Community. We can also help you choose the right topic to attract readers, to use the right tags to get more visibility, how to make quality posts and comments on Steemit, how to sell your products, business strategies and tips on how to make more money on Steemit and in life.

Congratulations @scap! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57451.97
ETH 3105.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32